Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Advanced Legal Research - Corporate
Quimbee.com Sign Up Information
Quimbee provides video tutorials on core law school subjects. You need to create a Quimbee.com account to view these lessons. The Law Library subscribes to Quimbee on your behalf. Use the link below to create an account at no charge to you.
WELCOME TO LAW 792-PPP
Welcome to the LAW 792-PPP LibGuide. This semester you will be introduced to and practice the skills needed to perform legal research in the corporate context. We will be focusing on a number of topics including: competitive intelligence and SEC forms research,
In addition to the information outlined within this LibGuide, you will find a variety of external links and resources.
1. Successfully retrieve, evaluate, and analyze up-to-date company information
2. Successfully navigate the complex regulatory environment of a particular industry
3. Select and use the appropriate specialized database(s) for a specific practice area
4. Perform competitive intelligence while respecting legal and ethical boundaries
5. Articulate some of the issues arising in due diligence research
6. Integrate legal research and business research skills
7. Demonstrate intermediate skill with Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, & PowerPoint)
Specialized Legal Research
Specialized Legal Research by
Call Number: REF KF240 .S69 1987
Publication Date: 2005-02-14
As legal practice areas become more specialized and less accessible sources of legal authority proliferate, clients often prove unwilling to bankroll extensive research. Specialized Legal Research will help you to locate what you need quickly and efficiently to master the sources unique to your field, and to cite authority your opposing counsel is unlikely to find. You will find detailed guidance on locating and using sources of law in each of these specialized areas of practice: Securities Regulation the Uniform Commercial Code Federal Income Taxation Copyright Law Federal Labor and Employment Law Environmental Law and Land use Planning Admiralty and Maritime Law Immigration Law Military and Veterans Law Banking Law Federal Patent and Trademark Law Government Contracts Custom Laws
Legal Research Books & Study Aids
Legal Research in a Nutshell, 13e by
Call Number: KF240 .C54 2018
Finding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers research procedures using major online services, free Internet resources, and library materials. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject, and a companion website has a regularly updated list of URLs and illustrations of online and print resources.
Federal Legal Research (2nd ed.) by
Call Number: KF240 .F48 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-23
This book complements the state-focused Legal Research Series. Federal Legal Research offers concise explanations of primary authorities in the federal system, along with chapters on secondary sources, updating, legislative history, and legal ethics and court rules. The book covers current platforms in Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg; free online sources; and print sources. Federal Legal Research takes a process-oriented approach to research. Its in-depth discussions of strategies and techniques for conducting American legal research make it effective in classes that integrate research, writing, and analysis as well as in courses with a bibliographic approach.
Find Info Like a Pro by
Call Number: KF242.A1 L482 2011
Publication Date: 2012-03-16
Written for legal professionals (but also useful for anyone who needs to conduct investigative and background research), this comprehensive book describes how to use hundreds of Internet sites to uncover public records.
Essential Lawyering Skills: Interviewing, Counseling, Negotiation, and Persuasive Fact Analysis by
Call Number: KF300 .E84 2015
A readable and concise introduction to the essential skills of interviewing, counseling, negotiation, and fact analysis. Features: Incorporates the latest research on: cognitive science research on fact analysis; storytelling process; and negotiation theory. Includes state-of-the-art techniques for fact investigation. Plenty of examples promote interest, accessibility, and place topics in context.
2013 Legal Assistant's Complete Desk Reference by
Call Number: KF320.L4 L449 2013
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
This is a complete guide to the rules and regulations guiding paralegals and legal assistants well as the many different types of forms they are responsible for each day.
Mastering Statutory Interpretation by
Call Number: KF425 .J455 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Mastering Statutory Interpretation explains the methods of interpreting statutes, including a discussion of the various theories and canons of interpretation. The book begins by exploring these theories and identifying the sources of meaning the theorists use to interpret statutes, including intrinsic, extrinsic, and policy-based. Throughout, the text uses the major cases in each area of study to explain how the canons work in practice. Finally, each chapter provides a concise roadmap and summary to introduce and encapsulate the most important material.This book is part of the Carolina Academic Press Mastering Series edited by Russell L. Weaver, University of Louisville School of Law.
Legal Guide to Cybersecurity Research by
Call Number: KF1617.C65 W47 2013
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Contains tools to assist cybersecurity researchers, institutional review boards, and legal counsel in understanding the legal and policy considerations associated with researchers obtaining and using network communications data in cybersecurity research.
Illinois Legal Research, 2e by
Call Number: KFI1275 .W65 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Shows how to find and stay current with Illinois cases, statutes, regulations, and local court rules. Focusing on state materials, it can be used as a supplement to national research texts or on its own to learn legal research. This book also explains how to locate secondary materials specific to Illinois law. Although the text was designed primarily for law students, seasoned attorneys will also appreciate the many secrets of Illinois legal research disclosed in this text. Wojcik's book includes materials on on citing Illinois under the Bluebook (for both law review formats and practice documents), the ALWD Manual, and local court rules.
International Legal Research in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KZ1234 .H64 2017
This Nutshell provides a basic introduction to international and foreign legal research for the non-specialist. It offers guidance through the unfamiliar pathways of research using international and non-US legal legal materials and demystifies the world of treaties and international case law.