Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Acting Skills for Lawyers by
Call Number: KF8915 .M374 2011
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
In this innovative book you'll learn how to develop and use stage presence, use an actors voice and gestures, develop characters for different audiences, deliver effective speeches, adopt the role of talk-show host for depositions, and more.
Antitrust: Examples & Explanations by
Call Number: KF1649 .S35 2014
Publication Date: 2014-03-24
A favorite among successful students, and often recommended by professors, the unique Examples & Explanations series gives you extremely clear introductions to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom throughout the semester. Use at the beginning and midway through the semester to deepen your understanding through clear explanations, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis. Then use to study for finals by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the accompanying analysis. Designed to complement your casebook, the trusted Examples & Explanations titles get right to the point in a conversational, often humorous style that helps you learn the material each step of the way and prepare for the exam at the end of the course. The unique, time-tested Examples & Explanations series is invaluable to teach yourself the subject from the first day of class until your last review before the final. Each guide: helps you learn new material by working through chapters that explain each topic in simple language challenges your understanding with hypotheticals similar to those presented in class provides valuable opportunity to study for the final by reviewing the hypotheticals as well as the structure and reasoning behind the corresponding analysis quickly gets to the point in conversational style laced with humor remains a favorite among law school students is often recommended by professors who encourage the use of study guides works with ALL the major casebooks, suits any class on a given topic provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures
Art of Cross Examination : Essays from the Bench and Bar by
Call Number: KF8920 .G53 2014
Publication Date: 2014-07-01
Forty years of trial wisdom from Litigation Magazine were reviewed and analyzed, with articles on cross-examination then selected to comprise a group of essays which collectively covered all aspects of the art.
Corporate Counsel's Guide to Meditation by
Call Number: KF9084 .P668 2010
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
This book is designed to help corporate counsel successfully settle commercial disputes through mediation. It examines the unique role that corporate counsel can play in mediation and offers step-by-step guidance.
Cross-Examination Skills for Law Students by
Call Number: KF8920 .P683 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Renowned cross examination experts Larry Pozner & Roger Dodd have teamed up once again, this time to bring their expertise on cross examination to law students.
Cross Examination in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF8920 .B63 2018
Cross Examination in a Nutshell is a new approach to an age-old skill. Focusing on incorporating storytelling and persuasion, it presents techniques for preparing, structuring, and delivering effective cross examinations in every setting. Cross Examination in a Nutshell departs from the old ways, and presents a new thought process for making cross examination as much a part of telling your story as is opening and closing arguments. The techniques for controlling the narrative, the witness, and your opponent are perfect for every advocate, from the law student to the most seasoned practitioner.
Depositions in a Nutshell, 2e by
Call Number: KF8900 .D484 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-04
This Nutshell, which replaces Binder, Moore and Bergman's Deposition Questioning Strategies and Techniques (2001), provides comprehensive descriptions and concrete illustrations of effective strategies and techniques for taking and defending depositions. The book can serve as a text for a 2-4 unit stand-alone depositions course (either live client or simulated) or as a supplement to a civil pre-trial lawyering course. It devotes separate chapters to such fundamental skills as obtaining helpful answers to critical questions, undercutting harmful testimony, obtaining a deponent's version of significant events, and obtaining information from evasive deponents. Other chapters include topics such as responding to inconsistent or implausible testimony, overcoming opposing counsel's objections and obstructionist tactics, and preparing a client to be deposed.
Effective Depositions, 2e by
Call Number: KF8900 .E35 2010
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
A comprehensive, practical guide through every stage of the deposition process. It concisely covers the law of depositions and related discovery issues and gives you a clear, thorough understanding of the process and its practical challenges.
First Trial (Where Do I Sit? What Do I Say?) in a Nutshell, 3e by
Call Number: KF8915 .Z9 G59 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-18
The First Trial Nutshell is a fresh and unique approach to advocacy instruction. Concentrating on the overall approach to trying a case, it weaves persuasion and procedure to help lawyers and law students prepare for their first trials with confidence. Addressing everything from technology to where to sit and what to say, it meshes the practical advice and how-to instructions with sophisticated persuasive techniques. Small enough to be read in a single sitting, this book will serve as the perfect first primer and a continuing resource for experienced litigators to read again before trial mediation or arbitration.
Getting the Whole Truth: Interviewing Techniques for Lawyers by
Call Number: KF311 .Z35 2020
The purpose of an interview is to uncover the truth; the method of uncovering the truth is the art of the interview. Obtaining sufficient relevant information is imperative in everything a lawyer does to protect the interests of the client, yet interviewing techniques are not emphasized in law school training.Getting the Whole Truth teaches lawyers--from novices meeting their first clients to experienced trial lawyers--effective methods of obtaining information by human interaction. No matter from whom you are seeking information or what your reason for desiring it, these techniques can help you meet and interact with others and effectively gather the facts you need.
Images with Impact: Design and Use of Winning Trial Visuals by
Call Number: KF8915 .R88 2017
Packed with hundreds of full-color graphics, Images with Impact: Design and Use of Winning Trial Visuals is a "must-have" for trial lawyers to help turn trial themes into visual images that juries are more likely to understand, believe, and remember. The book analyzes key visual communication tools such as maps, timelines, graphs and photos, addressing what works and why, and teaches graphic design basics to help presenters improve their own visuals. It also offers strategic tips for high and low-tech presentations, provides advice on spotting misleading visuals, and surveys federal and state law on demonstrative evidence across the country.
Legal Interviewing and Counseling in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF311 .S5 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-20
The authors of this book argue that counseling is the heart and soul of lawyering, and that it is an integral part of the legal education.
Legal Negotiation in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF9084.Z9 T46 2016
Publication Date: 2015-12-22
Follows the entire process from opening negotiations to settlement. Text first introduces negotiation in law practice and representing a client in legal negotiation. Covers the basic types of legal negotiations, case evaluation, and preparation. Also addresses the types of legal disputes that should not be negotiated. Examines negotiating styles and strategies, as well as the stages of legal negotiation.
Litigation Logic : A Practical Guide to Effective Argument by
Call Number: KF8915 .B577 2009
Publication Date: 2010-02-16
Learning to use, and defend against, informal fallacies are the keys to effective argument. This book examines informal fallacies and features a three-page Legal Logic Flow Chart to help identify the appropriate informal fallacy and counter them.
Making Your Case : The Art of Persuading Judges by
Call Number: KF8870 .S23 2008
Publication Date: 2008-06-06
This book covers the essentials of sound legal reasoning, including how to develop the syllogism that underlies any argument. From there the authors explain the art of brief-writing, and what it takes to succeed in oral argument.
Mediation in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF9084 .Z9 K68 2014
Publication Date: 2014-09-25
Thistitle provides a comprehensive, yet concise examination of the primaryaspects of mediation practice. In doing so, the book considers the legal,philosophical, policy and practical issues surrounding mediation use. Mattersinclude issues such as levels of participation in mediation, enforceability ofmediated agreements, regulation of practice including ethical issues, and asurvey of the specialized applications of mediation. The extent and limits ofconfidentiality are examined along with consideration of the Uniform MediationAct. Each chapter also contains an extensive bibliography and listing of theleading cases in each subject area.
Modern Trial Advocacy: Analysis and Practice by
Call Number: KF8915 .L82 2020
"From the moment it was released nearly thirty years ago, Modern Trial Advocacy has been the go-to textbook that law professors from coast to coast, offering a sophisticated, theory-driven approach to advocacy training that distinguishes it from all other books in the field. This modern classic was updated by merging it with features of the law school edition, creating an invaluable reference for litigators and trial lawyers at every stage in their career. This all-inclusive edition introduces handy checklists and a chapter on trial basics, as well as new research on juror perception and decision making, cross-examination techniques to use when discovery is limited, and exclusive online materials, including demonstration videos, that will enhance your acquisition of skills. Now that the remote practice of law has become a part of our system of justice, readers will find the skills taught in these pages as applicable to online trial preparation and hearings (and even, perhaps, to the future of trials) as they are in face-to-face litigation. As NITA's bestselling text since 1993, Modern Trial Advocacy remains the gold standard in advocacy treatises"--
Nine Principles of Litigation and Life by
Call Number: KF8915 .T552 2009
Publication Date: 2009-10-16
Tigar reflects on the principles of action that are needed in litigation and in life. He draws compelling parallels between being a successful trial lawyer and living a purposeful life.
Patent Infringement Litigation Handbook: Avoidance and Management by
Call Number: KF3155 .T54 2010
Publication Date: 2011-08-16
This practical book provides a well considered plan for invention protection and management that can be used effectively to avoid expensive, time-consuming, and sometimes company-killing patent infringement litigation.
Patent Litigator's Job: A Survival Guide by
Call Number: KF3120 .D99 2010
Publication Date: 2012-03-16
This book helps new lawyers deal with common procedural issues and teaches how to avoid frequent pitfalls of practice. The lifecycle of patent litigation is thoroughly detailed from beginning to the summary judgment stage.
Patent Trial Advocacy Casebook by
Call Number: KF3114 .P68 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
These materials are the result of the authors' ten years of teaching an advanced course in trial practice geared specifically to a patent infringement trial.
Pleading Your Case: Complaints and Responses by
Call Number: KF8870.Z9 K65 2011
Publication Date: 2011-11-16
Veteran litigator Janet S. Kole walks you through the steps of drafting a complaint or response and provides helpful tips and strategies to make your pleadings more effective.
Practice Skills Toolkit : Tips on ADR, Discovery & Ethics
Call Number: KF9084 .P73 2013
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
A compilation of numerous resources published by members of the ABA Section of Litigation. Hundreds, if not thousands, of articles were reviewed, and the best were chosen, resulting in a book of relevance and worth to new and veteran attorneys.
Practitioner's Guide to Appellate Advocacy by
Call Number: KF9050 .P73 2010
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
With diverse viewpoints from appellate advocates in private practice, government and academia, the book provides practical and expert advice for improving your appellate practice. It also examines the variations among the circuits.
Reinventing Witness Preparation by
Call Number: KF8950 .B47 2018
In Reinventing Witness Preparation, seasoned litigator Kenneth Berman explains the dangers of conventional witness preparation, showing how the common approach to preparing witnesses can foul up a case and hand victory to the other side. This book introduces a new and enlightened approach to witness preparation: that witnesses need to give answers that actually help their cases, and the best time to give the best answer is when the question is first asked.
Science of Persuasion: A Litigator's Guide to Juror Decision-Making by
Call Number: KF8972 .B73 2014
Publication Date: 2015-02-16
Written for law students, experienced litigators, and everyone in between who needs to understand the most effective ways to convince a jury, and includes extensive sample voir dire questions, opening and closing statements, and fact patterns.
Special Education Advocacy by
Call Number: KF4209.3 .S6767 2011
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
For those interested in special education law, this book identifies common special education related legal issues, outlines the process for filing suit, and provides details on major statutory and regulatory special education requirements.
Trial: A Guide from Start to Finish by
Call Number: KF8915 .W38 2020 (Practical Skills)
In a world of high-dollar discovery, lengthy motion practice, prohibitively expensive experts, pervasive Daubert practice, detailed pretrial exchanges, and more formal trial rules, it is more difficult than ever for young lawyers to get the courtroom experience they so desperately need to become real trial lawyers. It is this deficit of courtroom experience that created this book.Trial: A Guide from Start to Finish--Perspectives from Opposing Counsel is a collaboration of two trial lawyers who have tried many complex case courtrooms across the country. It takes readers through each stage of a jury trial, starting with the filing of a lawsuit long before a jury trial begins, and ending in the motion practice that concludes long after the jury's verdict. The authors divide the trial process into its fifteen segments, and each author writes from the perspective of either the defendant or the plaintiff, giving a full-rounded look at trial practice itself. Each of the authors' numerous victories (and occasional losses) in the courtroom have brought them valuable experience and taught them lesseon about each aspect of the jury trial process. This book is their effort to share those lessons with other trial lawyers and trial lawyers-to-be.
Trial Practice Manual for Criminal Defense Lawyers by
Call Number: KF9656 .R67 2020 (Practical Skills)
As a criminal defense trial lawyer, and especially a public defender, your task is enormous. You represent people who are in many ways "unrepresentable." The jury doesn't like them and doesn't understand why you represent them. As such, your clients do not need a lawyer, they need a warrior. More than that, they need someone who believes in them as human beings with value. Failure is not an option.By reading this manual, you have chosen not to fail. By choosing not to fail, you are seeing yourself as a trial lawyer. This is a practical, hands-on trial practice manual that explains in step-by-step detail how to represent a person charged with a crime, from initial receipt of the case and client interview through post-trial. This book will make you a true warrior for your client. By following the methods set forth in this book, you may not always win, but you will never fail.
Trial Techniques and Trials, 9e by
Call Number: KF8915 .M38 2013
Best-selling author Thomas A. Mauet--renowned for his skills as a writer and litigator--breaks the trial process down into its critical components for better and quicker student comprehension.
Trial Techniques and Trials (10th ed.) by
Call Number: KF8915 .M38 2017
Trial Techniques and Trials, Tenth Edition is a comprehensive yet concise handbook that covers all aspects of the trial process and provides excellent examples illustrating strategies for opening statements, jury selection, direct- and cross-examination, exhibits, objections, and more. Extensive examples are clustered into three groups: personal injury, commercial, and criminal for ease in finding particular areas of trial practice.