Practical Skills Book List: The Law School Experience

This edition walks you through the entire bar preparation process from getting a head start during your last year of law school to taking the exam. It features comprehensive coverage of the Uniform Bar Exam, including an explanation of each component and how to prepare for it, to the larger question of what "portability" really means for the bar candidate. This edition also provides guidelines for selecting a bar review course, bar planner checklists, advice on how to manage the material you cover in bar review courses, and advice on how to learn the law so you can remember it and use it to answer exam questions. It identifies the basic skills the exam tests and the precise manner in which these skills are tested, showing you how to target your study efforts to maximize results. An Appendix provides practice materials for the MPT and essays, including the MEEs, with "answer de-constructions" to explain why bar examiners chose those answers as "better than average."

Covers necessary skills in Interviewing, Counseling, Fact Investigation, and Negotiation that apply to every clinical experience.

This book demystifies law school and the process of studying the law. Rather than just describing the various necessary study skills -- including case briefing, taking notes in class, and preparing exam outlines -- the book shows how these skills are interrelated and how an incoming student can practice them before coming to law school, making the transition from prospective to actual law student easier and as painless as possible.

Cracking the Case Method is a concise and down-to-earth guide to the intellectual content of law school instruction, particularly in the first year.

Demystifying the First Year of Law School: A Guide to the 1L Experience provides law students with explicit frameworks for reading and analyzing court opinions in all first year courses.

Learn how to earn higher grades, excel in extracurricular activities, land a plum job after graduating. In Excelling in Law School, you'll discover the strategies and techniques for high achievement in law school and in life.

Finding Your Voice in Law School offers a step-by-step guide to the most difficult tests you will confront as a law student, from making a speech in front of a room full of lawyers to arguing before a judge and jury.
Drawn from interviews with students and attorneys from leading law schools and firms, Finding Your Voice in Law School delivers winning strategies for succeeding in law school and beyond.

Whether you are attending law school, thinking about retirement, burned out, struggling to find balance and meaning in your law practice and life, contemplating a career change, or in need of an attitude tune up, this book is for you.

Encourages the development of a sense of social and moral responsibility. It is a reference for students considering a law degree, or a career in law, and for new lawyers seeking more insight into the moral dimensions of their profession.

David Pannick presents an entertaining and sometimes shocking account of the conduct of judges and lawyers in court.

"There are two things wrong with almost all legal writing. One is style. The other is content." Professor Fred Rodell, Yale, 1936. We can't do much about content. You'll have to know how the common law system works, how to read and brief cases, how to study and take exams, how to write and argue law and how lawsuits are tried. We can do something about style. There's advice and illustrations. You'll throw pots, working your first case, making your first argument, briefing cases, taking exams, and writing memos. This is not for the faint hearted nor is law school. Think like a lawyer. I won't be a bore. I'll tell jokes, some of which are actually funny. I'll challenge you intellectually. Where does law come from? Should judges follow precedent? What if your client wants to pave Paradise and put in a parking lot? If you love ideas you'll love this book and you'll love law school. (If you love people you'll love practice.)

You are invited to follow along through the eyes of The Jim Report, a series of humorous e-mails Jim wrote to his family and friends while attending law school. You will also read about his epic court battle against a traffic ticket, taking an innocent ski trip that goes horribly wrong, saving a panicked law student from dropping her class, bantering with a United States Supreme Court Justice, meeting the next President, and shoving a piece of metal up his foot.
In a similar vein to Scott Turow's 1L, this modern version of law school life from the perspective of a (mostly) ordinary student tells it like it is, without the benefit of hindsight, and leaves the matter up to the readers to decide if law school is right for them. This is a fast read that will be enjoyed by students, lawyers, and anyone who is curious about law school life.

Law 101 gives a behind-the-scenes look at what law school's really like. The book condenses ten years of student and professor advice on how to make the most out of one's law school experience. The advice covers all aspects of law school, and ranges from academic advice on such topics as study techniques, classroom skills, and tips for exam success, to the best ways to participate in extracurricular activities, maintain healthy relationships outside of law school, and get a job after graduation.

As all former law students and current lawyers can attest, law school is disorienting, overwhelming, and difficult. Unlike other educational institutions, law school is not set up simply to teach a subject. Instead, the first year of law school is set up to teach a skill set and way of thinking, which you then apply to do the work of lawyering. What most first-year students don't realize is that law school has a code, an unwritten rulebook of decisions and traditions that must be understood in order to succeed. The Law of Law School endeavors to distill this common wisdom into one hundred easily digestible rules.

It focuses primarily on the client counseling, negotiation, and moot court competitions. It draws upon the advice of coaches and commentators as well as numerous theoretical and practical sources.

It answers questions students have as they begin their studies. What is a tort? Hornbook? Should I join a study group? It also explains and gives examples of the best methods for studying and for taking exams. It provides questions and model answers from actual law school exams. The Nutshell also provides information about the types of legal practice that are available to you when you graduate. And it describes the opportunities that will be available to you during your second and third years of law school, such as law journals, law clinics, internships, joint degree programs, and study abroad.

In the Law School Survival Manual, Nancy Rapoport and Jeff Van Niel serve as the friendly voice of experience whose wit and wisdom will guide you through law school from the application process to orientation, and from your first year to graduation.

A Law Student's Guide is for the newly admitted and prospective law student. The Guide helps students prepare for and benefit from the law school curriculum. It also helps prospective law students evaluate whether they are interested in law school. The Guide follows the urging of the Carnegie Foundation report Educating Lawyers to make the law school curriculum more explicit and to better integrate the knowledge, skills, and ethics dimensions of legal education. The Guide not only offers short sections on a variety of important principles of legal education, sources of law, and justice systems, but also addresses legal analysis, law practice, and lawyer ethics. Each of the Guide's sections begins with bullet points listing the topics addressed and ends with a set of reflective questions anchoring the curriculum in the student's experience. Each section also ends by stating the curriculum aims and identifying the courses and opportunities that help students meet those aims. The Guide also offers famous-lawyer biographies, new-lawyer vignettes, practice vignettes, career advice, and lawyer wisdom.

Provides readers with a clear path from law student to lawyer, with a fundamental understanding of what it expected of him or her as a new attorney.

Introduces students to the fundamentals of legal analysis and writing and teaches them how to read and brief cases, outline, study, master law school exams, and care for their physical and emotional well-being.

This book is for entering law students and law school orientation programs about how to study law. It covers how lawyers use the law, how the legal system works, how to study, how to read and brief case decisions, how to participate in class, how to prepare course outlines, and how to study for exams and write essay exam answers.

Off and Running is a unique text for the first semester of the 1L legal writing and research course, designed to guide students through their development of the essential skills needed to practice law.

Turow's experiences at Harvard Law School, where freshmen are dubbed One Ls, parallel those of first-year law students everywhere.

Many books give law students advice about how to navigate through their first year of law school. This book strives to be something different. The purpose of "One L of a Year" is to focus on the reading, studying and testing strategies used by the most successful law students. This book is more than advice--it is a learning guide based upon empirical research and statistical correlations between law student learning and their law school GPAs. Most importantly, this book attempts to show you what high-ranking law students have done to achieve success during their first year. It's one thing to read about how to take a law school essay exam--it's quite another thing to see examples of student essays, outlines, legal memoranda, and multiple choice questions. With drive and determination, most students can get through law school. However, "One L of a Year" gives you the research-based skills to maximize your own success.

Many books give law students advice about how to navigate through their first year of law school. This book strives to be something different. The purpose of "One L of a Year" is to focus on the reading, studying and testing strategies used by the most successful law students. This book is more than advice--it is a learning guide based upon empirical research and statistical correlations between law student learning and their law school GPAs. Most importantly, this book attempts to show you what high-ranking law students have done to achieve success during their first year. It's one thing to read about how to take a law school essay exam--it's quite another thing to see examples of student essays, outlines, legal memoranda, and multiple choice questions. With drive and determination, most students can get through law school. However, "One L of a Year" gives you the research-based skills to maximize your own success.

Open Book: The Inside Track to Law School Success, 2E is a book that every JD and LLM law student needs to read, either before classes start or as they get going in their 1L year. Now in an expanded second edition, the book explains in a clear and easygoing, conversational manner what law professors expect from their students both in classes and exams. The authors, award-winning teachers with a wealth of classroom experience, give students an inside look at law school by explaining how, despite appearances to the contrary, classes connect to exams and exams connect to the practice of law. Open Book introduces them to the basic structure of our legal system and to the distinctive features of legal reasoning. To prepare students for exams, the book explains in clear and careful detail what exams are designed to test. It then devotes a single, clearly written chapter to each step of the process of answering exams. It also contains a wealth of material, both in the book and digitally, on preparing for exams. Finally, and perhaps most importantly, Open Book comes with a free suite of 18 actual law school exams in Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Criminal Law, Property and Torts, written and administered by law professors. These exams include not only questions, but: (1) annotations from the professors explaining what they were looking for; (2) model answers written by the professors themselves; and (3) actual student answers, with professor comments that explain why certain answers were stronger of weaker. As Open Book explains, there is no better way to prepare for exams than by practicing, and these unique materials will enable students to get the most out of their pre-exam practice.

This compelling book is an assortment of posts from two of the most acclaimed law blogs for which author Brian Tannebaum has written.

Use Run Your Firm Like a Business to address the challenge of practicing law while managing the administrative and business demands of your practice. Powerful systems developed and refined over years help resolve the tension between the tasks of the business, and actually doing the legal work for which you were trained. This book shifts the paradigm of avoiding the administrative part of the profession and allows you to plan your business strategy like you plan your case strategy. Revolutionary systems, how to design them, implement them, and stick to them are all outlined in this helpful guide. The book provides detailed advice on: Effective information management system Choosing good clients and employees Marketing Timekeeping, billing, and collection systems Business operations including outside resources to consider, and more."

This essential resource examines the mentality that tears down lawyers and explains what's gone wrong and why, offering ideas for bringing balance back into daily lives, society, and the law.

Strategies and Tactics for the First Year Law Student gives you a detailed, step-by-step program for surviving the first year of law school.

A Student's Guide to Law School eloquently captures the journey of the novice to the professional by focusing on how to immerse oneself in the culture of law.

This book provides concrete suggestions for adjunct professors about how to design and conduct all aspects of teaching law students, based on the enormous body of research on teaching and learning to legal education. New and experienced adjuncts can apply the book's principles from sequencing a course to grading an exam. Updated and revised chapters provide a legal education-focused overview of the research on teaching and learning, students' perspective on law teaching and learning, course design, class design, student motivation, teaching methods, assessment, and professional development as teachers. New chapters focus on experiential learning, lasting learning, and troubleshooting.

With more than 1,000 quotes from 500 people, The Ultimate Lawyer Quote Book is the wordsmiths treasure chest of quotable gems.

This book is a firsthand account of trudging through law school. Three students offer a completely candid student perspective on every aspect of law school, from classmates to bar review, and outlines to studying abroad. While other law school preparation books are helpful, this account is a true story of how things really work, from the ground up. We are not law school experts, we are law school students: just like you. If you've ever wanted to know the real story on law school, this is it.

This book is a firsthand account of trudging through law school. Three students offer a completely candid student perspective on every aspect of law school, from classmates to bar review, and outlines to studying abroad. While other law school preparation books are helpful, this account is a true story of how things really work, from the ground up. We are not law school experts, we are law school students: just like you. If you've ever wanted to know the real story on law school, this is it.

Ancillary purchase book appropriate for incoming and first - year law students, law students in academic support programs, pre-law students, and graduates studying for the bar exam.