Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
2013 Legal Assistant's Complete Desk Reference by
Call Number: KF320.L4 L449 2013
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
This is a complete guide to the rules and regulations guiding paralegals and legal assistants well as the many different types of forms they are responsible for each day.
ALWD Guide to Legal Citation by
Call Number: KF245 .A45 2017
ALWD Guide to Legal Citation, Sixth Edition provides the tools needed for all forms of legal writing, using clear explanations and abundant illustrations. In a single set of rules that the novice and experienced legal writers can easily consult, Professor Barger contrasts the formats used in practice-based documents with those used in academic footnotes.
Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies (7th ed.) by
Call Number: KF240 .S66 2018
Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies, Seventh Edition by Amy E. Sloan is known for its clear, step-by-step instruction in the basics. Using a building-block approach, the textbook breaks material into discrete, readily comprehensible parts. Self-contained chapters on sources make the book flexible for any type of legal research course. Useful pedagogy throughout the text includes end-of-chapter checklists, clear examples, and summary charts. Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources guide students through the presentation.
Concise Guide to Legal Research and Writing by
Call Number: KF240 .B678 2020
Featuring Deborah E. Bouchoux's highly regarded assignments, examples, and building-block approach, Concise Guide to Legal Research and Writing, Fourth Edition continues to provide timely coverage of the essential research and writing skills used by today's paralegals. Designed specifically for paralegal students, this is the ideal text for shorter legal research and writing courses.
The Craft of Research by
Call Number: Q180.55.M4 B667 2016
With more than three-quarters of a million copies sold since its first publication, The Craft of Research has helped generations of researchers at every level--from first-year undergraduates to advanced graduate students to research reporters in business and government--learn how to conduct effective and meaningful research. Conceived by seasoned researchers and educators Wayne C. Booth, Gregory G. Colomb, and Joseph M. Williams, this fundamental work explains how to find and evaluate sources, anticipate and respond to reader reservations, and integrate these pieces into an argument that stands up to reader critique.
Federal Legal Research (2nd ed.) by
Call Number: KF240 .F48 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-23
This book complements the state-focused Legal Research Series. Federal Legal Research offers concise explanations of primary authorities in the federal system, along with chapters on secondary sources, updating, legislative history, and legal ethics and court rules. The book covers current platforms in Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg; free online sources; and print sources. Federal Legal Research takes a process-oriented approach to research. Its in-depth discussions of strategies and techniques for conducting American legal research make it effective in classes that integrate research, writing, and analysis as well as in courses with a bibliographic approach.
Federal Tax Research: Guide to Materials and Techniques by
Call Number: KF241.T38 R5 2018
The Tenth Edition features updated and expanded coverage of electronic sources, both subscription-based (including Bloomberg Law, Westlaw, Lexis Advance, Checkpoint, Wolters Kluwer (CCH), Federal Research Library, and HeinOnline) and those available without charge (particularly those provided by the government). It discusses factors to be considered in deciding between print and online research. Chapters discussing primary sources illustrate several online sources for finding these materials. This book devotes considerable space to publicly available IRS documents and legislative history materials.
Guide to Teaching Lawyering Skills by
Call Number: KF277.L45 G85 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
This book is designed for teachers of legal writing and research courses. Both new and seasoned legal writing teachers will benefit from the book, whether they are full-time professors, adjuncts, fellows, program directors, or teaching assistants.
Illinois Legal Research, 2e by
Call Number: KFI1275 .W65 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Shows how to find and stay current with Illinois cases, statutes, regulations, and local court rules. Focusing on state materials, it can be used as a supplement to national research texts or on its own to learn legal research. This book also explains how to locate secondary materials specific to Illinois law. Although the text was designed primarily for law students, seasoned attorneys will also appreciate the many secrets of Illinois legal research disclosed in this text. Wojcik's book includes materials on on citing Illinois under the Bluebook (for both law review formats and practice documents), the ALWD Manual, and local court rules.
Impeccable Research: A Concise Guide to Mastering Legal Research Skills by
Call Number: KF240 .O82 2016
Unlike conventional legal research books that just teach students how to find and use the various sources of law, this book stresses a systematic, practice-oriented approach to acquiring legal-research skills. It presents a simple yet highly effective research strategy that prepares students to efficiently solve the types of complex legal-research problems they can expect to encounter in the workplace.
International Legal Research in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KZ1234 .H64 2021
This Nutshell provides a basic introduction to international and foreign legal research for the non-specialist. It offers guidance through the unfamiliar pathways of research using international and non-US legal materials and demystifies the world of treaties and international case law. Since it's aimed at the non-specialist, it provides straight-forward background information on the United Nations and the European Union and includes guidance using the documents and legal materials of these institutions. There are extensive links to the rich world of Web resources, but it also describes print research tools that remain important in this field. It also sets out a road map for approaching a research problem involving international, foreign and comparative law. Finally, there is information on keeping current on new information and resources as well as tips for how to do handle source collection and cite-checking an international law journal article. Additional teaching materials are available for this title, and include online links to research sources noted in the book: Appendix A: Comprehensive List of Sources Appendix B: Websites Containing National Law Appendix C: Web Treaty Collections Appendix D: Planning Your Research and Organizational Tools
Legal Guide to Botnet Research by
Call Number: KF1617.C65 W45 2013
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
A central resource and tool to advance understanding of legal and policy issues associated with cybersecurity research on botnets.
Legal Guide to Cybersecurity Research by
Call Number: KF1617.C65 W47 2013
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Contains tools to assist cybersecurity researchers, institutional review boards, and legal counsel in understanding the legal and policy considerations associated with researchers obtaining and using network communications data in cybersecurity research.
Legal Literacy and Communication: Working with Law and Lawyers by
Call Number: KF250 .R66 2020 (Practical Skills)
"This book is designed expressly for students in Juris Master, Master of Jurisprudence, and Master of Legal Studies programs. This concise paperback empowers students whose professional background is outside of law with a foundational understanding of the United States legal system and insight into what lawyers do. The book covers key concepts, including: Understanding the roles of legislatures, agencies, and courts; Recognizing and using basic legal vocabulary in context; Reading a variety of legal documents efficiently and effectively; Writing law-related reports and correspondence; Reading and understanding the function of primary sources of law, including statutes, regulations, and cases; Understanding the basic elements of a contract and participating in contracting processes; and Recognizing and avoiding the unauthorized practice of law"
Legal Reference for Librarians: How and Where to Find the Answers by
Call Number: KF240 .H38 2014
Publication Date: 2014-01-01
As both an attorney and a librarian, Healy's background makes him uniquely qualified to advise library staff on providing users with the legal information they seek, and in this handbook, he provides a concise orientation on legal research.
Legal Research: Examples & Explanations by
Call Number: KF240 .P65 2017
Examples & Explanations: Legal Research is designed to meet the needs of law students who have come to expect that they will instantly receive answers to their questions. Rather than cataloging sources or outlining processes, this text starts where today's law students are when they realize they have a research problem. By that time, their research problem is not locating sources, but knowing what to do with them. The Legal Research E & E guides students through examples and explanations of the kinds of sources they've found, using the context of interesting and entertaining real-world problems.
Legal Research in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF240 .C54 2021
Finding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers research procedures using major online services, free Internet resources, and library materials. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject, and a companion website has a regularly updated list of URLs and illustrations of online and print resources. For more information and additional teaching materials, visit the companion site.
A Practical Guide to Legal Research and Analysis for Paralegal and Legal Studies Students by
Call Number: KF240 .P45 2020
Phillips's A Practical Guide to Legal Research and Analysis for Paralegal and Legal Studies Students distills legal analysis and research to a series of concrete skills that can be acquired chapter-by-chapter. The approachable writing style invites students to engage in active thinking and questioning. The text introduces skills and patterns of legal analysis in small pieces so students can master them bit by bit, with ample opportunity to practice using the creative end-of-chapter exercises. Students are guided step-by-step through an analysis exercise so that they can replicate the process. Students then practice the process in an end-of-chapter exercise, and later use the skill in drafting a memo or a motion as explained in the last two chapters. The book's conversational style makes it easy to read and makes legal analysis easy to grasp.
Researching the Law: Finding What You Need When You Need It by
Call Number: KF240 .S586 2020
Researching the Law: Finding What You Need When You Need It, Third Edition, guides students through a decidedly contemporary approach to legal research. Widely respected author Amy E. Sloan presents legal research as a process of efficiently filtering a vast quantity of available information. Simply put, students learn how to locate and identify the most pertinent and authoritative information available with the greatest possible expedience. Sloan's clear, concise explanations of essential research sources are presented in a context that speaks to the way lawyers do research today, with a flexible approach that works in a rapidly changing research environment.
Research Methods in Law by
Call Number: K85 .R47 2013
Publication Date: 2013-09-19
Designed for use by post-graduate students in law and legal studies this text provides a useful and critically rigorous introduction to the different research methodologies available to the student.
Where the Law Is: An Introduction to Advanced Legal Research (5th ed.) by
Call Number: KF240 .A76 2018
This newly updated textbook and course reference is designed specifically for advanced legal research classes and for upper-level students who want to achieve a better understanding of how to use the sources of legal information that they learned about in their introductory courses. It provides in-depth guidance through the research process, advice on format selection, and detail about the tools and techniques needed to function as skilled legal researchers. Up to date discussion of all media is fully integrated throughout. It focuses on the types of information the researcher needs, rather than on descriptions of particular information products.
The Yale Law School Guide to Research in American Legal History by
Call Number: KF240 .N36 2018
The study of legal history has a broad application that extends well beyond the interests of legal historians. An attorney arguing a case today may need to cite cases that are decades or even centuries old, and historians studying political or cultural history often encounter legal issues that affect their main subjects. Both groups need to understand the laws and legal practices of past eras. This essential reference is intended for the many nonspecialists who need to enter this arcane and often tricky area of research.
Principles of Legal Research (3rd ed.) by
Call Number: KF240 .O378 2020
Principles of Legal Research provides comprehensive yet concise coverage of research methods in both online and printed resources. It has been thoroughly updated to explain the latest features of the major legal research platforms as well as dozens of other free and subscription websites. In this expanded and reorganized edition, an introductory survey of research strategies is followed by discussion of major secondary sources, treatment of the sources of U.S. law created by each branch of government, chapters on specialized resources for litigation and transactional practice, and an overview of international and foreign law. Other new features include a deeper look at search algorithms and executive branch lawmaking. Sample illustrations are included throughout, and an appendix lists hundreds of major treatises and topical services by subject.