Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .V65 2016
Designed to help law students write and publish articles, this text provides detailed instructions for every aspect of the law school writing, research, and publication process. Topics covered include law review articles and student notes, seminar term papers, how to shift from research to writing, cite-checking others' work, publishing, and publicizing written works.
Advocacy Words: A Thesaurus by
Call Number: K50 .D74 2013
Publication Date: 2014-08-07
A lawyer's ability to choose words wisely -- and accurately -- is a valuable component for effective communication. This is the expanded third edition of Advocacy Words: A Thesaurus.
ALWD Guide to Legal Citation by
Call Number: KF245 .A45 2017
ALWD Guide to Legal Citation, Sixth Edition provides the tools needed for all forms of legal writing, using clear explanations and abundant illustrations. In a single set of rules that the novice and experienced legal writers can easily consult, Professor Barger contrasts the formats used in practice-based documents with those used in academic footnotes.
American Legal English: Using Language in Legal Contexts by
Call Number: KF250 .L3915 2007
Law is a profession that requires the ability to read critically, write well, synthesize sources from research, and speak concisely and clearly. American Legal English was developed to help non-native speakers improve their ability to understand and communicate in English with their legal counterparts around the world. The text is an introduction to basic legal information and the U.S. legal system that addresses the major areas of law and provides actual cases and statutes so that students can become familiar with legal syntax and legal vocabulary.
Amicus Brief: How to Write It and Use It Effectively by
Call Number: KF8748 .S536 2010
Publication Date: 2011-07-16
The amicus brief submission precedes even the common law, and has its roots in ancient Rome. But over the last 50 years, the role of the amicus brief has evolved, with the amicus brief even being cited by the Supreme Court more and more often. This helpful publication provides complete information on writing and understanding amicus briefs.
The Art of Advocacy: Briefs, Motions, and Writing Strategies of America's Best Lawyers by
Call Number: KF250 .M49 2013
The Art of Advocacy: Briefs, Motions, and Writing Strategies of America's Best Lawyers presents more than 150 examples of masterful advocacy to show lawyers how to write winning motions and briefs. The book focuses on the strategic and substantive choices that top litigators make, drawing examples from important, timely, and controversial cases. Detailed annotations give readers insight into what makes each document so effective. In addition to presenting a host of storytelling, stylistic, and organizational strategies, the book's examples demonstrate how to build and rebut different types of arguments.
Aspen Handbook for Legal Writers : A Practical Reference, 3e by
Call Number: KF250 .B68 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-08
Targeted at the needs of legal writers, the text focuses on the rules of grammar, style, and usage―with plenty of examples. A section on Legal Documents offers strategies to improve legal writing.
Basics of Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .R375 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-29
Designed to adapt to different learning styles, presenting all key information in traditional text, annotated examples, and lists or graphics.
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation by
Call Number: KF246 .U53 2020
A Uniform System of Citation: The Bluebook is the definitive style guide for legal citation in the United States. For generations, law students, lawyers, scholars, judges, and other legal professionals have relied on The Bluebook's uniform system of citation in their writing. In a diverse and rapidly changing legal profession, The Bluebook continues to provide a systematic method by which members of the profession communicate important information to one another about the sources and legal authorities upon which they rely in their work.
Brief Guide to Brief Writing by
Call Number: KF251 .K65 2013
Publication Date: 2014-08-14
This book can be utilized as an outline or a refresher for any type of brief that must be written, whether it's a main brief, reply brief, or sur-reply, and whether it's a lower court or appellate brief.
Building a Legal Practice One Article at a Time: Rainmaking through Publishing by
Call Number: KF316.5 .Z48 2021
This book covers the principles and context of expertise-driven marketing. It dispels myths about article writing, discusses the core principles that drive expertise-driven marketing, and identifies similarities between relationship-driven marketing and expertise-driven marketing. It contains 8 fundamental rules of effective article writing.
Clear and Effective Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .C45 2013
In its Fourth Edition, Clear and Effective Legal Writing continues to give students a classic introduction to legal analysis and legal writing. Concise and accessible, the text focuses on memo and brief writing while reinforcing key writing skills. This proven teaching tool provides the student with excellent examples and numerous skill-honing exercises.
Concise Guide to Legal Research and Writing by
Call Number: KF240 .B678 2020
Featuring Deborah E. Bouchoux's highly regarded assignments, examples, and building-block approach, Concise Guide to Legal Research and Writing, Fourth Edition continues to provide timely coverage of the essential research and writing skills used by today's paralegals. Designed specifically for paralegal students, this is the ideal text for shorter legal research and writing courses.
Contract Drafting: Powerful Prose in Transactional Practice by
Call Number: KF807 .E84 2015
In fourteen lessons, Contract Drafting by Lenne Eidson Espenschied serves as a complete how-to guide for lawyers new to transactional practice or for more experienced lawyers looking to reinforce their skills. This clearly written guide explains how the drafting process works; how transactional lawyers work from prior documents to produce effective and complete legal documents that protect the client's interests.
Drafting Organizational Documents by
Call Number: KF250 .K45 2018
Drafting Organizational Documents teaches clinical law students the indispensable skill of legal drafting by introducing them to the nonprofit and for-profit corporate documents they are most likely to create before graduating. Also appropriate for simulation and other skills courses, this book takes students through the process of identifying key issues, formulating provision options and crafting legal language. With chapters on the foundational documents for nonprofit corporation, limited liability companies, Delaware corporations and benefit corporations, this book enables students to draft documents from scratch in order to critically analyze and adapt forms.
Elements of Legal Style by
Call Number: KF250 .G37 2002
Publication Date: 2002-03-21
With expanded coverage in this new edition,The Elements of Legal Style features additional sections, many more examples, and a thoroughly researched appendix that contains 80 major statements on prose style--what it is and how to attain it.
Experiential Legal Writing (Aspen Coursebook) by
Call Number: KF250 .D66 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-10
Discusses the documents first-year law students are introduced to, including memos, briefs, and client letters, as well as documents that are used in upper-class courses, such as scholarly writing and pleadings.
Five Types of Legal Argument, 3e by
Call Number: KF380 .H84 2014
Publication Date: 2014-05-27
The book contains useful advice and illustrations on how to weave the different types of arguments together to make them more persuasive.
Garner on Writing and Language by
Call Number: KF250 .G376 2009
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
The nations' foremost expert on writing, style, and usage, Bryan Garner, now collects his finest essays on writing, language, and style, and offers them in this in this massive anthology.
Grammar and Writing Handbook for Lawyers by
Call Number: KF250 .E84 2011
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
The Grammar and Writing Handbook shows you precisely which rules need to be followed, how to choose the correct words, and the most effective way to structure every sentence to help you compose more persuasive, stronger material.
Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations, 2e by
Call Number: K89 .G85 2009
Publication Date: 2009-03-18
Created by the Journal of International Law and Politics at New York University, the Guide to Foreign and International Legal Citations is the most comprehensive source for international citations rules. Including 45 country citation systems.
Guide to Teaching Lawyering Skills by
Call Number: KF277.L45 G85 2012
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
This book is designed for teachers of legal writing and research courses. Both new and seasoned legal writing teachers will benefit from the book, whether they are full-time professors, adjuncts, fellows, program directors, or teaching assistants.
Judicial Clerkships : A Practical Guide by
Call Number: KF8807 .D86 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-01
The book explains the role and duties of judicial clerks, how to adapt the writing style used in law school classes and journals for use in the judicial clerkship setting, and the form and content of specific documents written by judicial clerks.
Just Memos : Preparing for Practice, 4e by
Call Number: KF250 .O178 2014
Publication Date: 2014-04-04
This brief text focuses on legal memo writing. Designed as a supplement for first-year legal writing courses, it provides students with information needed to write objective memos, opinion letters, and e-mails.
Lawyer Writes: A Practical Guide to Legal Analysis (2nd ed.) by
Call Number: KF250 .C68 2013
Like the very popular first edition, this second edition puts the reader in the place of a first-year attorney faced with real life assignments. In doing so, it teaches law students not only how to succeed in law school, but also how to succeed in the practice of law. Using graphics and visual samples, the book shows best practices in both traditional and electronic environments. Speaking to its readers in a straightforward manner, A Lawyer Writes communicates essential skills and theories so that they will be retained for a lifetime of legal practice. This edition is updated as a whole, and new chapters on client letters and the transition to persuasive writing have been added.
Legal Analysis and Writing: An Active-Learning Approach by
Call Number: KF250 .S525 2021
Learning to write like a lawyer requires more than passive reading and listening to lectures; it requires active learning. Legal Analysis and Writing: An Active-Learning Approach demystifies the process of analyzing a fact pattern and translating that analysis into succinct and objective writing. This book's scaffolded approach emphasizes an incremental presentation of the best practices of legal writing while offering a wide variety of features to help rising lawyers master the form and function of the documents they will compose in practice. Professors and students will benefit from: Study guide questions for each chapter to help students focus their reading Detailed explanations throughout the book, allowing students to understand the writing process Check-in exercises enabling students to test their understanding Plentiful writing examples to provide students with models for good writing Templates, worksheets, and checklists to help students analyze the law and assess their writing A detailed glossary to help students master key terminology In-class application exercises, quizzes, and more Support for flipped classroom and/or team-based learning models of instruction
Legal Citation in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF245 .T47 2021
Learning legal citation is one of the difficult (and sometimes admittedly annoying) tasks that students new to the law face. This book is designed to ease that task. It initially focuses on conventions that underlie all accepted forms and systems of legal citation. Building on that understanding and an explanation of the process of using citations in legal writing, the book then discusses and illustrates the particular rules of The Bluebook and the ALWD Citation Guide for citing cases, statutes, and all other major legal sources. Its unique appendices provide a useful reference resource to aid students in formulating citations.
Legal Literacy and Communication: Working with Law and Lawyers by
Call Number: KF250 .R66 2020 (Practical Skills)
"This book is designed expressly for students in Juris Master, Master of Jurisprudence, and Master of Legal Studies programs. This concise paperback empowers students whose professional background is outside of law with a foundational understanding of the United States legal system and insight into what lawyers do. The book covers key concepts, including: Understanding the roles of legislatures, agencies, and courts; Recognizing and using basic legal vocabulary in context; Reading a variety of legal documents efficiently and effectively; Writing law-related reports and correspondence; Reading and understanding the function of primary sources of law, including statutes, regulations, and cases; Understanding the basic elements of a contract and participating in contracting processes; and Recognizing and avoiding the unauthorized practice of law"
Legal Writing: A Judge's Perspective on the Science and Rhetoric of the Wrtten Word by
Call Number: KF250 .B33 2020
"Effective legal writing calls not only for artistry but also for scientific understanding. Legal wordsmiths turned words and phrases into finely tuned aphorisms, just as van Gogh and Matisse turned blank canvases into brilliant combinations of color and light. Unlike most forms of art, however, effective legal writing serves primarily to explain and persuade. You cannot easily explain or persuade without considering how your intended audience will process your words. Thinking about the intended reader is natural. Is your brief going to a court overwhelmed by filings? Is the assigned judge likely to read the brief once or to reread it many times? Are opinions by the assigned judge long or short?"--
Legal Writing: Examples & Explanations by
Call Number: KF250 .L398 2019
A favorite classroom prep tool of successful students that is often recommended by professors, the Examples & Explanations (E&E) series provides an alternative perspective to help you understand your casebook and in-class lectures. Each E&E offers hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis. Here's why you need an E&E to help you study throughout the semester: Clear explanations of each class topic, in a conversational, funny style. Features hypotheticals similar to those presented in class, with corresponding analysis so you can use them during the semester to test your understanding, and again at exam time to help you review. It offers coverage that works with ALL the major casebooks, and suits any class on a given topic. The Examples & Explanations series has been ranked the most popular study aid among law students because it is equally as helpful from the first day of class through the final exam.
Legal Writing : Process, Analysis, and Organization, 3e by
Call Number: KF250 .E38 2002
Publication Date: 2002-02-15
With its process-oriented approach and effective demonstration of the interrelationship between reasoning and writing, Legal Writing:: Process, Analysis, and Organization is a favorite of students and instructors. Now in its Third Edition, this phenomenally successful paperback has been revised and improved to serve as the cornerstone of the Legal Writing course. The author's careful attention to different learning styles keeps the book accessible. Noted author Linda H. Edwards retains the popular features that earned the enormously effective first and second editions such widespread acceptance, including: a step-by-step overview of the process of Legal Writing: outlining; creating a working draft; developing a final document; and revising effectively legal analysis linked To The large-scale organization of the document concrete explanations and examples that reinforce the materials copious exercises which help students build their writing skills In response to user feedback, LEGAL WRITING: Process, Analysis, and Organization, Third Edition, now offers: expanded use of cases to make effective analogies expanded coverage of using narrative techniques for persuasion coverage of the ALWD Citation Manual Legal Writing: Process, Analysis, and Organization, Third Edition, offers everything students need to get their first-year off to a solid start.
Legal Writing and Analysis in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF250 .S68 2017
This book provides a ten-step guide to clear, precise, and effective legal writing and analysis for both law students and experienced lawyers. It gives the keys to writing legal memoranda and briefs, organizing analysis, crafting clear and concise sentences, using legal language accurately, using grammar and punctuation properly, writing persuasively using classical rhetorical techniques. The book describes a method for analyzing and improving individual writing style includes a sample analysis. It also includes new material on using plain English and new legal documents to illustrate effective writing techniques.
Legal Writing by Design: A Guide to Great Briefs and Memos, 2e by
Call Number: KF250 .R35 2013
Publication Date: 2013-07-23
The second edition of Legal Writing by Design remains unique in demonstrating how to transform thoughts into writing by explaining the link between thinking and writing. It doesn't just tell the reader to "argue by analogy" or to "apply the rule" it explains the design of the thinking involved in those processes and shows how to transform that design into writing. Through easily understandable hypotheticals, outlines, graphics, exercises, and writing samples, many garnered during the authors' combined forty-plus years of teaching legal writing and appellate advocacy to law students, Legal Writing by Design comprehensively demonstrates how to transform ideas into exceptional writing.
Legal Writing in Plain English by
Call Number: KF250 .G373 2013
Admirably clear, concise, down-to-earth, and powerful--all too often, legal writing embodies none of these qualities. Its reputation for obscurity and needless legalese is widespread. Since 2001 Bryan A. Garner's Legal Writing in Plain English has helped address this problem by providing lawyers, judges, paralegals, law students, and legal scholars with sound advice and practical tools for improving their written work. Now the leading guide to clear writing in the field, this indispensable volume encourages legal writers to challenge conventions and offers valuable insights into the writing process that will appeal to other professionals: how to organize ideas, create and refine prose, and improve editing skills. Accessible and witty, Legal Writing in Plain English draws on real-life writing samples that Garner has gathered through decades of teaching experience. Trenchant advice covers all types of legal materials, from analytical and persuasive writing to legal drafting, and the book's principles are reinforced by sets of basic, intermediate, and advanced exercises in each section. In this new edition, Garner preserves the successful structure of the original while adjusting the content to make it even more classroom-friendly. He includes case examples from the past decade and addresses the widespread use of legal documents in electronic formats. His book remains the standard guide for producing the jargon-free language that clients demand and courts reward.
Legislative Drafting Step-By-Step by
Call Number: KF4950 .R98 2013
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
Designed to assist legislators, their staffs, and all who read or write legislation to better understand the basics of legislative drafting and the important role that well written legislation plays in promoting the rule of law.
Letters for Small-Business Lawyers by
Call Number: KF1659.A65 B38 2011
Publication Date: 2012-03-16
This book offers letter templates, forms and advice for the many attorneys who represent, or wish to represent, small businesses.
The Little Seagull Handbook by
Call Number: PE1408 .B883823 2017
Most handbooks include chapters on various general writing topics (e.g., the writing process or the elements of an argument), but few cover the specific kinds of writing students are assigned to do. The Little Seagull has chapters on reports, analyses, and all the other genres that college students are most often assigned. And because it's so small, so easy to use, and so affordable, it's proven to be a popular alternative to larger (and much more costly) handbooks.
A Manual of Style for Contract Drafting by
Call Number: KF807 .A33 2017
With A Manual of Style for Contract Drafting, Kenneth A. Adams has created a uniquely in-depth survey of the building blocks of contract language. First published in 2004, it offers those who draft, review, negotiate, or interpret contracts an alternative to the dysfunction of traditional contract language and the inertia and flawed conventional wisdom that perpetuate it. This manual has become a vital resource throughout the legal profession, in the United States and internationally. This updated edition contains almost one hundred pages of new material addressing many topics, making it even more authoritative and essential. This manual's focus remains how to express contract terms in prose that is free of the archaisms, redundancies, ambiguities, and other problems that afflict traditional contract language.
Mindful Legal Writer: Mastering Predictive Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .B765 2015
Publication Date: 2015-01-26
The Mindful Legal Write offers law students and junior lawyers a step-by-step approach to learning the scientific framework of written predictive legal analysis, while at the same time encouraging them to consider the artistic nature of communicating through the written word. This book also proposes that students consider the basics of the concept of mindfulness in the legal writing context a recent movement in legal education to encourage law students to be fully conscious and aware of one s actions and surroundings, and pay attention, on purpose, in the present moment (according to mindfulness advocate, Jon Kabat-Zinn) in order to be a better legal counselor to clients.
Modern Legal Drafting: A Guide to Using Clearer Language by
Call Number: K94 .B88 2013
Publication Date: 2013-03-28
A comprehensive guide to drafting legal documents in plain English. It combines a practical focus with the legal principles that underpin the use of plain language in law.
Modern Legal Scholarship: A Guide to Producing and Publishing Scholarly and Professional Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .C684 2020 (Practical Skills)
"The purpose of this book is to get you started and guide you through the full scholarly writing process, from drafting to publishing. This book breaks down that process into understandable and manageable tasks to help you get started and complete the project. Individuals learn best when they understand the context and purpose of a project. To provide as much context as possible for the tasks ahead, and so that you understand both how and why to complete each task, this book walks you through the process of producing a range of quality scholarship both efficiently and effectively"--
A Practical Guide to Appellate Advocacy by
Call Number: KF251 .B42 2019
Mary Beth Beazley's highly regarded A Practical Guide to Appellate Advocacy is a comprehensive student-focused guide to writing appellate briefs. Written in an understandable, direct writing style, this concise paperback's effective structure centers on a four-point approach to writing and breaks each point down into key elements that are then treated in-depth. New to the Fifth Edition: New bullets at the end of each chapter reviewing major takeaways Expanded coverage of research advice in Chapter 3, including discussion on Boolean searches A new chapter on using statutes in briefs, covering Reading statutes effectively Making statutory interpretation arguments Research techniques for statutory interpretation arguments Professors and students will benefit from: Student-friendly writing that is easy to read and understand Annotated examples - both good and bad - that help students understand why certain methods are effective Chapters on effective use of cases and statutes that address common problems experienced by students Numerous formulas that make learning and remembering easy: Creac Formula for effective topic sentences Formula for effective case descriptions ""Template"" formula for effective signals to the reader Teaching materials include: Powerpoints with effective examples and teaching notes Self-grading guidelines and examples of self-grading of effective and ineffective legal writing
Practical Guide to Legal Writing and Legal Method by
Call Number: KF250 .D47 2007
Publication Date: 2007-03-28
This concise, readily accessible text focuses the first-year law student on learning the basic principles of legal writing and analysis. Starting with a straightforward introduction to law and legal method and moving on to the basics of legal writing.
Practical Legal English: Writing as a U.S. Lawyer by
Call Number: KF250 .H637 2019
In this concise book, Craig Hoffman offers practical guidance to non-U.S. lawyers on how to read, analyze, and write U.S. Legal English. Hoffman writes from the perspective of both an attorney and a trained linguist. His advice is grounded on years of experience at Georgetown University Law Center, where Hoffman has introduced hundreds of foreign LL.M. students to the ways that U.S. lawyers use language to communicate about the law.
Pre-Writing Handbook for Law Students: A Step-By-Step Guide by
Call Number: KF250 .G725 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-27
Intended primarily for use in the first few weeks of the first-semester legal writing course, this handbook takes a systematic approach to the process of preparing to write legal memos, briefs, and other documents.
Redbook : A Manual on Legal Style by
Call Number: KF250 .G375 2006
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
Garner's The Redbook: A Manual on Legal Style provides the comprehensive guide to the essential rules of legal writing.
Rhetoric, Persuasion, and Modern Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .P67 2020
Classical, rhetorical techniques can enhance the persuasiveness of Supreme Court opinions by making their language clear, lively, and memorable. This book focuses on three techniques, "invention" (creation of arguments), "arrangement" (organization), and "style" (word choice) in the work of Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., Robert Jackson, Hugo Black, William Brennan, and Antonin Scalia, respectively. The justices featured here contributed to the Court's rhetorical legacy in different ways, but all five rejected the magisterial opinion style of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries in favor of a more personal and conversational format. Because of this, their opinions have endured, at least in part, and while modern speakers may not recall the authors, they understand and embrace the ideas expressed in their legal writings and continue to apply it to current debates. This book can be used by practicing lawyers as well as academics not only to study legal writing techniques but also as a tool to improve their own.
Universal Citation Guide, 3e by
Call Number: KF245 .U54 2014
The Universal Citation Guide contains AALL's recommendations for universal citation rules for judicial decisions, statutes, and administrative regulations.
Writing and Analysis in the Law (7th ed.) by
Call Number: KF250 .S5 2018
Writing and Analysis in the Law provides a guide to legal writing, focusing on the importance of thoughtful, thorough analysis and clear organization in written communications. Developed as a textbook for a first-year law school course and successful in courses for foreign LLM students, the book introduces law students to analyzing and writing about legal authority in cases and statutes.
Writing for Dollars, Writing to Please by
Call Number: KF250 .K535 2012
Publication Date: 2012-05-23
The book's call for clarity and simplicity is vital to everyone who writes for the public--and to every legal writer as well, since more than 15 of the studies involved legal documents. The book's lively, distinctive style makes it a pleasure to read.
Writing for Litigation by
Call Number: KF250 .B75 2020
Writing for Litigation, Second Edition, explains and shows students how to draft litigation documents like a lawyer. Because litigation practice can't be boiled down to just a few forms, this text provides drafting instruction for the full range of documents used in litigation practice. Authors Kamela Bridges and Wayne Schiess systematically address how audience, purpose, strategy, and ethics factor into the content and tone of effective legal writing at every stage of a case--from client engagement letters to motions, discovery, affidavits, and jury instructions
Writing Shorter Legal Documents by
Call Number: KF250 .O848 2011
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
When you're on a deadline with the court and are over the maximum word count in your document, this book provides the fast, easy editing tricks you'll need.
Young Litigator by
Call Number: KF297 .Y678 2011
Publication Date: 2012-04-16
This book is a compilation of articles from the ABA Section of Litigation, chosen by young practicing lawyers, that seeks to guide young litigators in their first days, months, and years in the practice of law.