Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Legal topics and Current Issues
The following sites are either lists of legal topics or discussions of hot topics within specific areas of law. if you are looking for a paper topic, browse one of the sites below.
Cornell's LII: Topic Guides
Topic guides from the Legal Information Institute's "community-built law dictionary and encyclopedia"
"provides Internet users with free case law, codes, regulations, legal articles and legal blog and twitterer databases, as well as additional community resources. Justia works with educational, public interest and other socially focused organizations to bring legal and consumer information to the online community"
Books, Treatises and Encyclopedia
Legal encyclopedias and subject treatises are good resources for someone starting out on a legal research topic. A legal encyclopedia will set out the main outlines of an area of legal study, while a subject treatise will provide in-depth coverage of an area of law with references to primary sources.
If you are looking for historical materials, there are several resources available through the library:
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources
Fully searchable digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more.
Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises
Comprises fully searchable works from the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries (1800-1926) on British Commonwealth and American law, covering nearly every aspect of law.
Making of Modern Law: Trials (1600-1926)
Fully searchable digital collection includes unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations.
Legal Classics (Hein)
Includes more than 2,000 works from some of the greatest legal minds in history including Joseph Story, Jeremy Bentham, William Blackstone, William Holdsworth, Henry Maine, Federick William Maitland, Frederick Pollock, Benjamin E. Cardozo, and many more!
(LLMC) Digital Collection
Includes many Presidential papers and other executive documents, Supreme Court materials (including Federal Cases), Statutes at Large, and many military and state publications.
Law Reviews and Journals
Law reviews and journals are the main resource for academic legal scholarship. Journals are generally edited by the students of the law school publishing the journal. Thus, law journals are not in the strictest sense 'peer reviewed'. Law Journals are, however, the standard in legal scholarship and have all the prestige and credibility of 'peer review'. There are several databases available through the University of Illinois Library for searching and browsing law reviews and journals.
contains primary legal resources (case law, statutory law, and administrative law) at the federal and state level, plus law reviews and journals and some international coverage
Provides law reviews and journal articles prior to the dates traditionally covered by Lexis and Westlaw. Provides full text search capabilities.