Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Law Library has several print resources on labor and employment topics. Try the catalog for further resources.
U of I Catalog
This includes only the holdings at the University of Illinois at Urbana/Champaign.
Labor and Employment Law and Economics, 2e by
Call Number: K487.E3 E53 2009 v.2 Law Reference [non-circulating]
Publication Date: 2009-07-30
The economic analysis of labor and employment law is a bold effort to apply economic theory to explain important empirical facts about the regulation of the employment relationship and to provide positive predictions and normative analyses that are useful to policy-makers. This book draws together 24 chapters, by leading scholars in the field, summarizing the important theoretical and empirical work that has been done to date on a wide spectrum of labor and employment law topics including: regulating employment contracts, unions, collective bargaining, minimum wages, health insurance, executive pay, workers' compensation, unemployment, occupational health and safety, discrimination, needs of families, training and slave labor, to name but a few.This volume is one of the first in a series on specific topics within law and economics which builds upon, updates and replaces Elgar's very popular Encyclopedia of Law and Economics. It is designed as an essential starting point for academics and policy-makers who are interested in these topics.
Age Discrimination in Employment by
Call Number: 331.398133 Sa731a Main Stacks
Increased life expectancy and an ageing workforce have highlighted the problem of age discrimination in developed countries. Malcolm Sargeant's Age Discrimination in Employment is an encyclopedic guide for HR specialists and employment lawyers to the nature of age discrimination in the workplace in a number of countries, along with a discussion of the main thrust of employment law in this area, including an analysis of the Employment Equality (Age) Regulations 2006. The book opens with a consideration of what age discrimination is and how it manifests itself at the workplace and elsewhere. It also breaks discrimination down by age (discrimination against young, middle, and senior age employees) and explores multiple discrimination, including age and gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, and disability. An important reference for HR departments, policy-makers and others concerned with organizational culture and development, discrimination, and social policy.
Family and Medical Leave in a Nutshell, 1e by
Call Number: KF3531 .Z9 D43 2000
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
The author wrote this Nutshell to be used as a freestanding or as a supplementary text for courses in discrimination, employment & labor law, labor standards legislation, & recent developments in employment law by law schools.
Smith & Wood's Employment Law by
Call Number: 344.41 Sm59s 2008 Main Stacks
Publication Date: 2007-11-17
As the successor to Smith and Wood's Industrial Law, this work continues its predecessor's reputation for both comprehensive coverage and lucidity of presentation. With a new and improved structure and layout, the ninth edition maps closely onto employment law courses and provides aninvaluable resource for students. Individual topics are presented in a logical framework, allowing students to analyse and understand what can initially appear to be an intimidatingly diverse and complex area of the law.Thoroughly revised and updated and covering all the major developments in the subject since the eighth edition, it includes the standard disciplinary and grievance procedure, the 2006 Transfer of Undertakings, the new TUPE Regulations and age discrimination. Online Resource CentreA new Online Resource Centre providing twice-yearly updates to changes and developments in the law accompanies this book.
Introduction to Federal Employment Law
This Libguide contains information on U.S. federal employment law, which generally involves issues between individual employees and their employers (such as harrassment or discrimination claims, minimum wage, overtime claims or similar disputes).
If you are looking for information on issues of collective bargaining between employers and employees, such as unionization, strikes, lockouts, etc., you may want to check out the Labor Law guide.
Here on the home page you can find links to the major federal agencies that manage employment issues as well as general reference sources on employment law that are available in the law library. If you are looking for the statutes, regulations or court or agency decisions that make up the primary employment law in the United States, see the Statutes, Regulations and Decisions tab. If you are looking for secondary sources, try the Treatises, News, Periodicals and Handbooks tab.
For a more in-depth discussion of researching employment law issues, see Hazelton's Specialized Legal Research. Chapter 5 covers federal employment law resources.
Specialized Legal Research by
Call Number: KF240 .S69 1987
Publication Date: 1995-12-31
This looseleaf work covers legal research in nine specialized substantive areas. Securities Regulation, UCC, income tax, copyright law, labor law, environmental and land use law, admiralty and maritime law, immigration law, and military law research techniques are presented in the book.
Finally, for research of broader labor and employment issues, try the Labor & Employment Relations Digital Library.
Employment law in the United States is a heavily regulated area; administrative agencies play an enormous role by promulgating and enforcing regulations and adjudicating disputes. it is important to be familiar with the leading administrative agencies and their role in U.S. employment law. Following is a brief list of major agencies with links to their websites. Other agencies involved in employment law enforcement can be found at the Department of Labor's website.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
Part of the Department of Labor, OSHA sets and enforces standards for safe and healthful working conditions.
Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs
Ensures compliance with the Rehabilitation Act by federal contractors.
Veterans' Employment and Training Service
Administers the Jobs for Veterans Act and the USERRA, which guarantee employees time off for military service and prohibit discrimination against veterans.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Part of the Department of Labor, the BLS is the principal federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)
Investigates, resolves, and prosecutes charges of workplace discrimination. Individuals seeking to file their own civil suit alleging employment discrimination are generally required to have already pursued the matter with the EEOC and obtained a 'right-to-sue' letter.
Department of Labor (DoL)
The cabinet-level agency responsible for general administration of federal labor laws, the DOL includes several sub-agencies responsible for a wide range of labor and employment-related functions.
Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation
Created by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 to support the continuation and maintenance of private-sector defined benefit pension plans.