Skip to main content

A Welcome to the Library: Finding Information in the Library

A basic orientation to services in the Jenner Law Library

The Law Library

Law Library's picture
Law Library
Contact:
504 E. Pennsylvania Ave.
Champaign, Illinois 61820
Reference Desk : (217) 244-0614

Law Library Databases and Reference Resources

The library's electronic collections have been assembled to provide students with the opportunity to develop their research skills on the very tools they will find in law practice, from LexisNexis and Westlaw, to specialized databases in a variety of practice areas covering both U.S. and foreign law. Many resources are also available in text form in the library.

 

Rare Book Collection

The Rare Book collection at the College of Law contains more than 10,000 volumes dating from the sixteenth through the twentieth century in a range of areas from the Anglo-American tradition to renaissance Europe to pre-Communist China. The law collection is particularly strong in United States and British law and, appropriately, one of the few in America with a comprehensive run of Blackstone's Commentaries.

The nation's foremost expert on legal rare books has said of the Rare Book collection at the College of Law that it easily ranks among the top ten in the country. This is due not only the impressive breadth and depth of the collection, but also the inclusion of many items found only at the Jenner Law Library. From the handwritten diaries and case notes of nineteenth century jurists to practitioner marginalia in 18th century reporters to the many examples of "ephemera" in the form of sensational cases involving murder and treason, sold as true crime thrillers of the day, the collection is, by any measure, extraordinary.

Staff Assistance

Reference services are provided by reference librarians and library graduate assistants.
Reference librarians have both law and library science degrees, are members of the University Library faculty, and often have practice experience.
Graduate assistants at the reference desk have law degrees and are currently enrolled in the Graduate School of Library and Information Science.