It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A Welcome to the Library: Law Students
A basic orientation to services in the Jenner Law Library
Westlaw contains primary Law for all U.S. jurisdiction plus secondary sources and analytical material. See also Lexis Advance, and Bloomberg Law.
This subscription is available by login and password and limited to College of Law students and Faculty.
ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals (Hein)This collection digitizes ABA Law Library Collection Periodicals, along with 44 periodicals previously only available to ABA section members. It provides access to current volumes of included periodicals and covers all subject areas of American law.
HeinOnlineProvides law reviews and journal articles prior to the dates traditionally covered by Lexis and Westlaw. Provides full text search capabilities.
JstorSearchable digital archive of scholarship from the arts and sciences. Identifies older articles in many disciplines. Full text of over 100 journals in the areas of African American studies, anthropology, area studies, botany, general science, music etc
Overview of Services for Students
Teach legal research for 1L core and in Advanced Legal Research
Offer Certificated in Legal Research that allows students to develop further understanding of topics such as Legislative History, Advanced Case Analysis, and Regulations
Offer reference and point-of-use instruction at Reference Desk
In person: drop-in hours posted on Library Hours of Operations
In person: one-to-one consultation to discuss seminar papers and research projects, by appointment
Designed to help law students write and publish articles, this text provides detailed instructions for every aspect of the law school writing, research, and publication process. Topics covered include law review articles and student notes, seminar term papers, how to shift from research to writing, cite-checking others' work, publishing, and publicizing written works.
In Our Practical Skills Collection we have books and guides for:
Bar-related topics such as Business Organizations, Estates & Wills, Secured Transactions, etc.
Core courses such as Civil Procedure, Criminal Law, Torts, etc.
Job Seeking and Interviewing
Law Practice or Firm Operations
Research Approaches, Sources and various forms of Legal Writing
Research resources by subject matter including treatises, Nutshell series, encylopedias, etc.
With a consistent emphasis on precision and good organization, Legal Writing and Other Lawyering Skills, Fifth Edition, shows students how to draft memoranda, opinion letters, pleadings, briefs, and other legal documents. Includes lawyering skills topics such as client counseling, negotiating, and how to present an oral argument before the court.
Finding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers research procedures using major online services, free Internet resources, and library materials. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject, and a companion website has a regularly updated list of URLs and illustrations of online and print resources.
Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies, Seventh Edition by Amy E. Sloan is known for its clear, step-by-step instruction in the basics. Using a building-block approach, the textbook breaks material into discrete, readily comprehensible parts. Self-contained chapters on sources make the book flexible for any type of legal research course. Useful pedagogy throughout the text includes end-of-chapter checklists, clear examples, and summary charts. Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources guide students through the presentation.