Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Books on Law Practice
Admiralty in a Nutshell
Call Number: KF1105 .M34 2022
Addresses maritime tort law, collision law, worker injury claims, wrongful death, and platform injuries. Explores maritime property liens and the seaman's employment contract, wages, and compromise of claims. Discusses marine insurance, towage and pilotage, salvage, and general average. Also covers sovereign immunity; joint and several liability, indemnity, and contribution; liability limitations; and jurisdiction and procedure in maritime claims.
Employment Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF3455.Z9 .C68 2022 (Practical Skills)
This Nutshell provides an overview of individual employee rights and responsibilities. It addresses a number of areas, including establishing and ending the employment relationship, protection of employee privacy and reputation, discrimination, regulation of wages and hours, employee physical safety, fringe benefits, and employee duties of loyalty. This edition includes a discussion of the many changes in harassment law and the impact of the #MeToo movement, a look at the recent Supreme Court case law extending employment discrimination protections to sexual orientation and transgender status, an examination of the trend toward a more virtual economy and platform-based work, and a description of the changes in how employees work, and the terms of that work, in the face of an ongoing health pandemic.
Energy Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF2120.Z9 T65 2022 (Practical Skills)
This title addresses the component parts of the energy fuel cycle, as well as the market and government policies that oversee it. This Nutshell describes in detail the country's traditional energy policy and also discusses the current challenges that confront it. Chapters cover the individual natural resources used to produce energy and the book concludes with the development of a clean energy policy for the future.
Evidence in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF8935.Z9 R6 2022 (Practical Skills)
The latest version of the Federal Rules is the anchor of this book, with some state variations noted where important. The text summarizes significant U.S. Supreme Court decisions, including the latest Confrontation Clause cases; additional leading cases; forefront expert, scientific, and electronic evidence developments; and principal schools of evidentiary thought. Includes practical implementation as well as scholarly approaches. It pays attention to the litigation process as a whole and includes interdisciplinary cross-pollination where helpful. Numerous signpost-type headings and subheadings light the way, concisely summarizing the gist of each evidentiary concept. The detailed table of contents alone could serve as a complete course outline. Distinctively, an analytical, thoughtful approach is emphasized throughout.
Evidence Law: A Student's Guide to the Law of Evidence As Applied in American Trials
Call Number: KF8935 .P368 2022 (Practical Skills)
In clear and engaging prose that makes concepts accessible without oversimplification, this Treatise explains the Federal Rules, selected state variations, major cases, essential doctrines, and important underlying policies. Frequent practical examples drawn from courtroom practice introduce students to courtroom procedure, provide a context in which evidence problems arise, and acquaint them with the language of the courtroom. This volume can serve as background for beginning students and as a one-stop refresher for those taking advanced courses. Professors can assign various sections to track the syllabus or simply recommend this book as useful background reading.
Family Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF505.Z9 K7 2022 (Practical Skills)
Few areas of law practice cover as many issues as family law. The subject embraces marriage and divorce, annulment, custody of children, spousal and child support, complex property issues, paternity, domestic violence, adoption, and alternative means of reproduction. Each of these topics itself is complex. For example, within the broad subject of child custody lie the issues of interstate move away cases, international parental child abduction, and the impact of domestic violence on a parent's right to custody or visitation. In addition to purely legal issues, family law has a large psychological component, touching on some of the most important and sensitive aspects of human nature and interaction, such as, what is a family, what are the rights and responsibilities of parents toward children, and how should society respond to child abuse and domestic violence? All of these issues, and more, are discussed in this Nutshell. The book provides a thorough introduction to this challenging field of practice. As you prepare for the bar examination, check to see if family law is tested on the bar you intend to take. The Uniform Bar Exam tests family law. A number of state bar exams include family law. This book covers the family law topics you will encounter on the bar and in a family law course.
The Fine Art of Trial Advocacy by
Call Number: KF8915 .S247 2021 (Practical Skills)
This book introduces young lawyers to the art of trial advocacy. The author provides a historical context and shares engaging stories of exemplary trial lawyers throughout history. He then walks the reader through the role and qualities of the trial lawyer and presents an in-depth primer on rhetoric and persuasion. Each stage of the trial is considered in depth with examples from real cases.
Foreign Investment Law Including Investor-State Arbitrations in a Nutshell by
Call Number: K3830 .F64 2022 (Practical Skills)
Home country investors merge or acquire existing businesses or establish new companies in host countries. Investors purchase stocks and bonds on foreign exchanges, and sometimes foreign sovereign debt. The number of transactions and sums involved are staggering. Unlike international trade law governed significantly by the World Trade Organization, no uniform body of foreign investment law exists. Hence foreign investment law is predominantly national, occasionally regional, in character. There are many intriguing variations on foreign investment law around the world. Foreign Investment Law including Investor-State Arbitrations in a Nutshell, 3d reviews the law, practice, regulation and dispute settlement of foreign investment. Following the Nutshell tradition, citations are minimized creating a book that reads easily. Students, academics, lawyers, government officials and people in business will find it useful. This Nutshell introduces foreign investment entry and operational control patterns, investment-related technology transfers, and expropriation issues. It also explores the multitude of bilateral investment treaties (BITs). Investment regimes under free trade agreements (FTAs) are considered, with special attention to the dynamic rules of NAFTA 1994 and its USMCA 2020 successor. Controversial foreign investor-host state arbitration awards and systems are closely examined. Investing in China, Europe and North America are presented as "case studies".
Haben: The Deafblind Woman Who Conquered Harvard Law by
Call Number: KF373.G567 A3 2019
The incredible life story of Haben Girma, the first Deafblind graduate of Harvard Law School, and her amazing journey from isolation to the world stage. Haben grew up spending summers with her family in the enchanting Eritrean city of Asmara. There, she discovered courage as she faced off against a bull she couldn't see, and found in herself an abiding strength as she absorbed her parents' harrowing experiences during Eritrea's thirty-year war with Ethiopia. Their refugee story inspired her to embark on a quest for knowledge, traveling the world in search of the secret to belonging. She explored numerous fascinating places, including Mali, where she helped build a school under the scorching Saharan sun. Her many adventures over the years range from the hair-raising to the hilarious. Haben defines disability as an opportunity for innovation. She learned non-visual techniques for everything from dancing salsa to handling an electric saw. She developed a text-to-braille communication system that created an exciting new way to connect with people. Haben pioneered her way through obstacles, graduated from Harvard Law, and now uses her talents to advocate for people with disabilities. Haben takes readers through a thrilling game of blind hide-and-seek in Louisiana, a treacherous climb up an iceberg in Alaska, and a magical moment with President Obama at The White House. Warm, funny, thoughtful, and uplifting, this captivating memoir is a testament to one woman's determination to find the keys to connection. "This autobiography by a millennial Helen Keller teems with grace and grit." -- O Magazine "A profoundly important memoir." -- The Times ** As featured in The Wall Street Journal, People, and on The TODAY Show ** A New York Times "New & Noteworthy" Pick ** An O Magazine "Book of the Month" Pick ** A Publishers Weekly Bestseller **
International Environmental Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: K3585.6 .G87 2022 (Practical Skills)
This well received book, informed by its interdisciplinary framework, succinctly yet accurately traverses and illuminates the full gamut of international environmental issues, laws and policies challenging the world today. The sixth edition responds to important developments arising subsequent to the fifth edition, relating, inter alia, to sustainable development, climate change, and energy. These developments include the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of 2015, the 2015 Paris Agreement on Climate Change that replaced the Kyoto Protocol, and the challenges posed by renewable energy and global poverty. In sum, the book offers a synoptic overview, and instructive analysis of the relevant treaties, customary law, and soft law instruments governing all areas of international environmental law.
The Japanese Legal System in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KNX68 .J662 2020
The Japanese Legal System in a Nutshell by Professors Colin P.A. Jones and Frank S. Ravitch provides a thorough and up-to-date overview of Japan's legal system and system of government. Focusing on practical aspects of the subject, it covers the law-making process, constitutional theory and reality, the civil, criminal and administrative justice systems, the environment of business law and regulation and the Japanese legal professions. Importantly, it also provides a context for understanding the Japanese legal system in readily comprehensible terms, including historical background and the different (compared to the United States and other common law systems) role and organization of the courts as part of an overall system of government.
Just Pursuit: A Black Prosecutor's Fight for Fairness by
Call Number: KF373.C585 A3 2022
When Laura Coates joined the Department of Justice as a prosecutor, she wanted to advocate for the most vulnerable among us. But she quickly realized that even with the best intentions, "the pursuit of justice creates injustice." Through Coates's experiences, we see that no matter how fair you try to fight, being Black, a woman, and a mother are identities often at odds in the justice system. She and her colleagues face seemingly impossible situations as they teeter between what is right and what is just. On the front lines of our legal system, Coates saw how Black communities are policed differently; Black cases are prosecuted differently; Black defendants are judged differently. How the court system seems to be the one place where minorities are overrepresented, an unrelenting parade of Black and Brown defendants in numbers that belie their percentage in the population and overfill American prisons. She also witnessed how others in the system either abused power or were abused by it--for example, when an undocumented witness was arrested by ICE, when a white colleague taught Coates how to unfairly interrogate a young Black defendant, or when a judge victim-blamed a young sexual assault survivor based on her courtroom attire. Through these revelatory and captivating scenes from the courtroom, Laura Coates explores the tension between the idealism of the law and the reality of working within the parameters of our flawed legal system, exposing the chasm between what is right and what is lawful.
Marijuana Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF3891.M2 O83 2022
Marijuana Law in a Nutshell (2d ed. 2022) is a compact and thorough overview of marijuana law. It is organized by the basic divisions of marijuana law: by the dichotomy between federal and state law; and second, by the bifurcation between illegal and legal status of marijuana. As to federal law, the Nutshell details the Controlled Substances Act of 1970 (CSA), and the ramifications of marijuana's placement on Schedule I--for law enforcement, hemp and CBD, scientific research, and international law. Also explored are constitutional challenges to the CSA, including whether state laws are preempted by the CSA. As to states, the Nutshell explains the various marijuana laws of the 50 states--whether traditional criminalization, decriminalizing, medical marijuana states, or recreational marijuana states. Where marijuana use is illegal, the Nutshell explains the criminal law of marijuana in such topics as sentencing, asset forfeitures, search and seizure, and pretextual stops. Where legal, the Nutshell has chapters covering marijuana activity and banking, employment, impaired driving, professional responsibility for lawyers, taxation, bankruptcy, and parental custody issues. In its comprehensive treatment of marijuana law, the Nutshell includes a history of marijuana law, and presents medical and public policy arguments for and against legalization. It also investigates marijuana's place in American culture and social life, in world law, and how marijuana compares to other potentially harmful substances, both legal and illegal. Looking forward, the Nutshell assesses marijuana reform bills. Finally, the Appendix charts medical, recreational, and CBD legality by federal and state jurisdiction. All in all, a thorough summation of the key statutes, cases, policies, and law of marijuana.
Mass Communication Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF2750 .Z9 M37 2020
Mass Communication Law in a Nutshell satisfies the need for a basic text in communication law, not only for law students but for journalism and communication students as well. Highlights of the Eighth Edition of the popular book include a discussion of Hulk Hogan's successful lawsuit against Gawker for public disclosure of private facts, the right to be forgotten (or "erased") in Europe, and numerous social media issues, including cyberstalking, catfishing, trolling, doxing, swatting, posting threats on Facebook and access to President Trump's tweets. Further highlights include the USA FREEDOM Act, the Supreme Court's expansion of exemption 4 of FOIA, First Amendment limits on denials of trademark registration, the Broadcast Spectrum Auction, and the continuing battle over net neutrality.
Mergers and Acquisitions in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF1477.Z9 O37 2019
Oesterle and Haas's Mergers and Acquisitions in a Nutshell provides a succinct exposition of the law of mergers and acquisitions to which a student or lawyer can turn to for reliable guidance.
Public Health Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF3775 .H63 2022 (Practical Skills)
Public Health Law in a Nutshell, 4th Edition provides a compelling and informative assessment of the critical role of law in American society to protect the community's health, a theme punctuated by the COVID-19 pandemic. Understanding the field of public health law encompasses its constitutional sources and limits as well as historic and modern attempts to regulate in the interests of public health and safety. This new edition of the Nutshell explains and addresses these issues within a modern framework supporting the role of law toward improved health outcomes in routine and emergency applications. Updated to reflect key developments through the COVID-19 pandemic in mid-2021, the Nutshell's 12 chapters and 150+ graphics, illustrations, and figures lay out definitive legal issues underlying core public health powers to prevent and control communicable and chronic conditions as well as injuries and related deaths. It also explores legal routes to counter other public health threats, including tobacco and alcohol use, guns, vehicles, and defective products. Additional chapters center on difficult trade-offs related to public health information surveillance and privacy, commercial speech regulation, zoning and the built environment, and emergency legal preparedness generally. The all-new Chapter 12 centers on the dynamic legal and policy issues implicated during the COVID-19 pandemic, the most impactful public health crisis in U.S. history. This edition of the Nutshell is a "must read" and "go to" resource text for thousands of legal or public health practitioners in the field, law- and policy-makers, and collegiate or graduate students in schools of law, public health, or medicine assessing these issues as part of their coursework or research interests.
Resolving Gerrymandering: A Manageable Standard by
Call Number: KF4905 .S33 2021
"This book proposes a manageable standard for resolving gerrymandering without the entanglements of justiciability and political questions. The standard focuses on the mechanism by which gerrymandering operates, not on the outcome. The precedent for this focus is the solution to disparate population counts in the one-person, one-vote cases. This focus is necessary because any remedy needs to work with other unconstitutional inequities (such as income based gerrymandering) as well as ones based on partisanship"--
Social Media Law in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF390.5.C6 G37 2022 (Practical Skills)
Social media has transformed how the world communicates. Its impact has been felt in every corner of our society including the law. Social Media Law in a Nutshell is a wide-ranging look of how the social media transformation has impacted various legal fields. From marketing to employment to torts to criminal law to copyright and beyond, virtually every legal field has been changed by social media. By looking at high level concerns and example cases, Social Media Law in a Nutshell attempts to give practitioners exposure to social media issues and concerns so they can better advise clients and approach the new social media world with their legal eyes opened to new and old risks alike. This book can also serve as a text for law professors looking to expose law students to the burgeoning area of Social Media Law. The second addition covers new cases, regulations, and guidance from government regulators in the social media space.
Social Security Law and Practice in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF3649 .B56 2022 (Practical Skills)
This book is intended to provide a broad overview of Social Security law and practice. It covers the two main titles of the Social Security Act: Old Age, Survivors and Disability Insurance (OASDI) and Supplemental Security Income (SSI), with a special focus on the disability provisions of both programs. It begins with an introductory chapter that places current Social Security law and practice in its historical context, including a brief discussion of the circumstances surrounding the passage of the Act in 1935, the major amendments to the Act since 1935, and key Supreme Court decisions that have impacted the coverage and administration of OASDI and SSI. The remaining chapters can be grouped into three parts: chapters 2, 3, and 4 describe the central eligibility requirements for benefits under both programs; chapters 5 and 6 delve more deeply into the requirements for disability benefits; and chapters 7, 8, and 9 focus on the administration of the programs, including the roles of lawyers and other claimant representatives, administrators and administrative judges, and federal courts.
Uniform Commercial Code
Call Number: KF890 .W45 2022
This fully revised 7th Edition will give students a comprehensive introduction to the Uniform Commercial Code without burdening them with unnecessary detail: Articles 1 and 2 (sales), Articles 3, 4, 4A and 5 (payment systems), and Article 9 (secured transactions), as well as related statutes, amendments, regulations, and operating rules. The new edition deals not only with the 1999 revisions to Article 9 but also with the recent revisions to Article 1. This edition also addresses the earlier revisions to Articles 5, 3, and 4. It has limited coverage of the failed attempt to revise Article 2. A reference volume relied on by students, courts, and business lawyers for decades, the 7th Edition has been updated in light of modern practice and provides a useful resource for students and practitioners dealing with issues in sales, contracts, secured transactions, and payment systems.
The USMCA (NAFTA Re-Negotiated) and Its Business Implications in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KDZ944 .F653 2020
No lawyer or business operating in North America can escape the significance of NAFTA and its successor, the USMCA agreement of 2018. This Nutshell introduces students, lawyers, government officials and business persons to the law and economics of North American free trade. It first examines the origins, operation and impact of NAFTA 1994. The changes made by the USMCA agreement of 2018, and their implications for business, are explored in detail. In preparing this Nutshell, we have attempted to address the interests not only of North Americans, but also persons located outside the region who are concerned about the externalities of North American free trade, intellectual property and foreign investment law.
White Collar Crime in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF9350.Z9 P63 2022 (Practical Skills)
This text provides a broad overview of white collar crime, including procedural and evidentiary issues. It covers specific offenses such as mail and bank fraud, securities fraud, obstruction of justice, bribery, the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO), and computer crimes. It covers procedural topics such as those related to grand jury and administrative agency investigations, self-incrimination, and parallel proceedings. Also discussed are punishment and sanctions for white collar crimes.