LibGuides: Legal Ethics and the MPRE: Legal Ethics: Secondary Sources

Secondary Sources for Legal Ethics Research

This page describes various secondary sources related to legal ethics, including treatises, journals, practitioner handbooks, and a legal ethics blog.

Treatises and Reference Texts

The Lawyer's Deskbook on Professional Responsibility by Rotunda, Ronald D., and Dzienkowski, John S.
Call Number: KF306 .L44 (Compact Stacks)

Commentary on the ABA's Model Rules of Professional Conduct, as well as current case law and the Restatement of the Law (Third) of The Law Governing Lawyers.
Online access via Westlaw
Legal Ethics and Social Media: A Practitioner's Handbook by Jan L. Jacobowitz; John G. Browning; Center for Professional Responsibility (American Bar Association) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF390.5.C6 J33 2017
A Legislative History: A Legislative History: The Development of the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct, 1982-2013 by Center for Professional Responsibility (American Bar Association) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF305.A2 A16 2013

ISBN: 9781627223850

Publication Date: 2013-01-01

Examines the history and evolution of the ABA's Model Rules of Professional Conduct from 1982-2013.
ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct
Comprehensive online publication from the ABA and Bloomberg Law which provides access to legal ethics codes, commentary, practice guides, and news.
Elements of Illinois Law: Practicing Ethically by Andreoni, Mary F.
Call Number: KFI1276.5.A2 A63 2020

Guide to practicing law ethically under the Illinois Rules of Professional Conduct. Published by the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education. Includes forms.
Attorneys' Legal Liability by McGarry, Thomas P., and Andreoni, Mary F.
Call Number: KFI1276.5.A2 A88 2018

Publication Date: 2018

Practitioner's guide to legal liability issues and ethical concerns. Published by the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education. Includes forms.
Lawyer Law: comparing the ABA model rules of professional conduct with the ALI restatement (third) of the law governing lawyers by Thomas Morgan; Center for Professional Responsibility (American Bar Association) Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF306 .M667 2005

ISBN: 1590313038

Publication Date: 2005-03-01

Text comparing the ABA model rules of professional conduct with the American Law Institute's Restatement of the Law Governing Lawywers.
Restatement of the Law (Third), the Law Governing Lawyers by American Law Institute Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: KF395.G613 A7 2000

ISBN: 0314251227

Publication Date: 2000-01-01

American Law Institute's Restatement of the Law governing lawyers.
Restatement of the Law - The Law Governing Lawyers Archive
Archive of documents relating to Restatement (Third) of Law Governing Lawyers. Online access through Westlaw.

American Law Institute Library (Hein)
Contains full runs of the Institute's Annual Reports, Proceedings, Annual Meeting Speeches, and the Institute's newsletter, The ALI Reporter.

Legal Ethics Journals

The Georgetown Journal of Legal Ethics
Call Number: K7 .E384

Legal ethics journal published by Georgetown University Law Center. Online Access through HeinOnline
The Journal of the Legal Profession
Legal ethics journal published by the University of Alabama School of Law. Online access through HeinOnline
Notre Dame Journal of Law, Ethics & Public Policy
Call Number: K14 .O785

Legal ethics journal published by the Notre Dame Law School. Online Access through HeinOnline

Legal Ethics and the MPRE

Secondary Sources for Legal Ethics Research

Treatises and Reference Texts

Legal Ethics Journals

Legal Ethics Forum RSS Feed