The following legal databases, while still expensive, are much cheaper in comparison to the big three and could be considered if looking to fulfill a long-term or complicated legal research need. Covers both primary and secondary sources, but its citators (if applicable) and catalog are not as robust as the big three.
Database of primary and secondary law for both federal and state jurisdictions. Does have a citator known as Authority Check that also has an algorithmic tool known as Bad Law Bot to find negative citation history. Offers a free trial to try the service. Also contains free webinars on legal research that count as CLE (Continuing Legal Education) in many jurisdictions.
Database that also consists of primary law and secondary sources for all relevant U.S. jurisdictions. Citator is known as "SmartCite," which uses a colored flag system to indicate treatment. Features AI search tools as well as allowing users to upload documents such as briefs or complaints to allow the system to direct their research. Can try out the service with a free trial.
Access to federal court records (case and docket information) electronically. Standard cost is 10 cents a page with a cap of 3 dollars for any document. However, users will only be billed if they exceed 30 dollars worth of charges in a given quarter. These amounts may change, so make sure to reference the PACER Pricing page. Before using PACER, you should check the RECAP Archive, a searchable collection of PACER documents and dockets already gathered using the RECAP browser extension.
Known mostly for legal journals and periodicals, Hein also has access to case law, statutes, regulations, and a plethora of other secondary sources as well as some international materials. Offers annual and short-term subscriptions.