Resources - Intellectual Property Law - Law 797-J: International Intellectual Property - LibGuides at University of Illinois Law Library

Introduction

International Intellectual Property Law is comprised of several different areas including copyrights, trademarks, patents, and trade secrets. NOTE: a common subjected heading to search for foreign and international IP is INDUSTRIAL PROPERTY.

Non-Law Materials

Main Library Search Page
The University Library holds more than thirteen million volumes and 24 million items and materials in all formats, languages, and subjects, including 9 million microforms, 120,000 serials, 148,000 audio-recordings, over 930,000 audiovisual materials, over 280,000 electronic books, 12,000 films, and 650,000 maps. These collections form the bulk of I-Share, the statewide library online catalog. Currently there are 76 I-Share libraries and more than 30 million library items represented in the I-Share catalog. Users at these I-Share libraries may borrow books directly from the 76 I-Share library participants.
Databases by Subject
Long list of databases on a wide variety of topics. Pull down the arrow next to All Subjects for specific areas.

Databases, Multi-volume Works & Websites

International & Non-U.S. Law Journals (Hein) This link opens in a new window
Contains many foreign, English language law reviews that are not on Westlaw, e.g. the Singapore Law Review, various South African law reviews and many more.
Foreign & International Law Resources Database (Hein) This link opens in a new window
The FILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world. It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Hein) This link opens in a new window
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is the preeminent multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions. IFLP also analyzes the contents of approximately fifty individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year.
Intellectual Property Law Collection (Hein) This link opens in a new window
US Law ONLY.

International LEXIS: Law Treatises, Practice Guides & Jurisprudence
Doing Business in . . .
Getting the Deal Through . . .
INTERNATIONAL ENCYCLOPAEDIA OF LAWS FOR INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY LAW
Written by national experts in their field, Intellectual Property provides an overview of all the pertinent information on intellectual property needed to gain a clear comprehension of the legislation and policy on the subject in different countries.
more...less...
Includes a monograph on the Berne Convention and overview chapters of intellectual property legislation and policy in selected countries.
Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Technology Library Catalogue
The library catalogue of the Max Planck Institute for Innovation and Technology indexes the journal it receives

Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online resource containing peer-reviewed articles on many aspects of public international law.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Includes working papers, articles, book chapters, statistics and other materials on IP. Some are general, others are specific to an individual country.

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)
Searching the main OECD site provides empirical studies and commentaries on numerous international IP matters, such as licensing, contemporary application of TRIPS, and details on how different IP systems affect different markets.
WIPO Lex
WIPO Lex is a one-stop search facility for national laws and treaties on intellectual property (IP) of WIPO, WTO and UN Members. It also features related information which elaborates, analyzes and interprets these laws and treaties. It provides streamlined access to reference material of key importance for optimal information on the global IP System.
University of Alicante Intellectual Property and Information Technology Project
UAIPIT.com is the international Portal on Industrial and Intellectual Property, Information Technology law and Alternative Dispute Resolution (mediation).

The database of contains several sections on Legislation, Case law, Events, Blogs, Links, Publications, Research and Education, Intellectual Property dictionary, and other information grouped in six categories:
1. Competition law
2. Copyright and related rights
3. Distinctive signs (trade marks, designs)
4. Information Society (e-commerce, e-contracts, digital signature, data protection, the law of communication, taxation in the Internet, and the law of information)
5. International dispute resolution (international jurisdiction, ADR, international civil procedure, applicable law and enforcement of judgments)
6. Patents (Inventions, patents, utility models, and plant variety protection)

The scope area covered by all sections of www.uaipit.com is international, and also covers the laws, statutes, and case law of American and European countries. The scope is expanding to Asia, Africa and Oceania. UAIPIT is available in English, Spanish and German.

EUR-Lex This link opens in a new window
Free online access to European Union law including case law. Provides access to case law prior to 1997, which makes this site a good companion to CURIA , the website for the Court of Justice of the European Union.
IP Law News (BNA) This link opens in a new window
Concise yet comprehensive news of the most important intellectual property cases, regulatory developments, and trends, on a daily basis.

Intellectual Property High Court (Japan)
Provides organization of the IP court in Japan, important IP judgments in Japan, several guidelines applied in IP courts in Japan, etc. This website is available in Japanese, English, French, German, Chinese, and Korean.
IP Mall
"The oldest open access IP information collection on the web, brought to you by UNH School of Law’s IP Library. The IP Mall is the virtual collection of the UNH Law IP Library, the only academic IP library in the Western Hemisphere since 1995. UNH Law is a world-renowned law school for the study of intellectual property."

BloombergLaw - Practice Centers - Trademarks & Copyrights / Patents & Trade Secrets

Books

Intellectual Property and Development by Rami M. Olwan
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9783642279072
Publication Date: 2013-03-15
The book examines the correlation between Intellectual Property Law - notably copyright - on the one hand and social and economic development on the other. The main focus of the initial overview is on historical, legal, economic and cultural aspects.
International Intellectual Property Law and Human Security by Robin Ramcharan
Call Number: E-book
ISBN: 9789067049009
Publication Date: 2012-11-27
This book examines how intellectual property rights (IPR) affect the daily lives of individuals worldwide and how that may in turn impact the health and wealth of nations. While the protection of the intellectual endeavours of authors and inventors is vital for a fair and just society it is important that the IPR regime remains flexible enough to encourage creativity, innovation and the free flow of information and technology that are critical to the well being of billions of people, especially in the developing world.
Intellectual Property at the Crossroads of Trade by Jan Rosen (Editor)
Call Number: K1402 .I58 2012
ISBN: 9781781951682
Publication Date: 2012-12-28
The book comprises thoughtful contributions on varying commercial aspects of IP, from parallel imports of pharmaceuticals to exhaustion of rights, and from trade in goods of cultural heritage to regulation of goods in transit. There is detailed discussion
Individualism and Collectiveness in Intellectual Property Law by J. Rosén (Editor)
Call Number: K1401.A6 I584 2010
ISBN: 9780857938978
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
Individualism and Collectiveness in Intellectual Property Law embraces fundamental, eternal and yet very contemporary elements in IP law dealt with in all parts of the world.There are certain classic values embedded in the protection of human effort and
Structure of Intellectual Property Law by Annette Kur (Editor); Vytautas Mizras (Editor); International Association for the Advancement of Teaching and Research in Intellectual Property Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: K1401 .S78 2011
ISBN: 1848448767
Publication Date: 2011-06-30
This well-researched and highly topical book analyses whether the ever-increasing degree of sophistication in intellectual property law necessarily leads to fragmentation and inconsistency, or whether the common principles informing the system are sustain
Intellectual Property in the Global Arena by Axel Metzger (Editor); Jürgen Basedow (Editor); Toshiyuki Kono (Editor)
Call Number: K1401.A6 I58175 2010
ISBN: 9783161504440
Publication Date: 2010-12-31
The private international law of intellectual property is currently much debated both in Europe and abroad. Art. 8 of the Rome II Regulation of 2007, which codifies a territorial approach for the infringement of intellectual property, has provoked an intensive discussion in Europe as to whether the lex loci protectionis is still appropriate in the age of worldwide networks.
Arbitration of Intellectual Property Disputes by Alejandro Garcia
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9789041127259
Publication Date: 2010-10-28
More and more, intellectual property disputes tend to be multijurisdictional in nature, and parties everywhere are turning to international arbitration as the most promising means of resolution. Although these two legal specialisms - intellectual property law and international arbitration - are still in the process of understanding' each other, an efficient and effective procedural system of international intellectual property arbitration is well under way and growing by leaps and bounds.
Intellectual Property, Unfair Competition and Publicity by Nari Lee (Editor); Guido Westkamp (Editor); Annette Kur (Editor); Ansgar Ohly (Editor)
Call Number: K1575 .I58 2014
ISBN: 9780857932617
Publication Date: 2014-06-25
Dealing with rights and developments at the margin of classic intellectual property, this fascinating book explores emerging types of regulations and how existing IP regimes inform and influence the judicial and legislative creation of "substitute" IP rights.