Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This section contains books in the library collection that are great resources for immigration law.
The Criminal Lawyer's Guide to Immigration Law by
Call Number: KF4819 .M39 2006 (Stacks)
Publication Date: 2006
This concise guide focuses on the criminal lawyer's most common questions about immigration law and representing noncitizens, from "Who exactly is an alien?" to "Are removal hearings conducted like criminal proceedings?"
Fiance and Marriage Visas by
Call Number: KF4819.6 .B73 2016 (Reference)
Publication Date: 2016-08-31
The book that's helped thousands of couples around the world You're engaged or married to a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, and all you want is the right to be together in the United States. Should be simple, right? It's not. The pile of application forms can be overwhelming, the bureaucracy isn't helpful, and delays are inevitable. This book will help you succeed. Discover the fastest and best application strategy. Avoid common--and serious--mistakes. Prepare for meetings with officials. Prove your marriage is real--not a fraud. Deal with the two-year testing period for new marriages. The 9th edition covers the expanded provisional waiver opportunity, and changes to application processes. It also provides checklists and sample forms throughout. Use this book if you are living in the United States or overseas and: your fiancé is a U.S. citizen your spouse is a U.S. citizen, or your spouse is a U.S. permanent resident.
How to Get a Green Card by
Call Number: KF4840 .L49 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-30
The ultimate green card guide The U.S. immigration system is an enormous bureaucracy, so it's vital that you understand it before attempting to apply for a green card. Making a mistake can lead to delays and other hassles or even ruin your chances for success. How to Get a Green Card provides everything you need to know about qualifying for permanent U.S. residence if you don't have an employer sponsoring you. Find out how to work with U.S. officials and prepare and present the right documents at the right time to get a green card through: parents, siblings, or adult children your spouse or fiancé green card lotteries (diversity visa) political asylum or refugee status U visas, and other categories. The 13th edition covers the wind-down of the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program and other new restrictions and procedural changes. It also includes samples of all the key application forms, updates on all required sponsor income levels, and more.
Immigration Consequences of Criminal Activity by
Call Number: KF4819 .K73 2008 (Stacks)
Publication Date: 2008
Immigration Consequences provides you with an overview of criminal immigration law and a nuts and bolts discussion of how to prepare and present waivers. It will help you identify immigration classifications of the crime charged, identify adverse immigration consequences attached to convictions, identify potential forms of relief, including waivers, and identify possible plea solutions.
Immigration Guide (IICLE) by
Call Number: KF4821 .I42 2012 (Illinois Alcove)
Publication Date: 2012
A comprehensive guide to a variety of visas, as well as permanent resident, naturalization, and citizenship options.
Immigration Law and Procedure in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KF4819.3 .W4 2017
This compact, comprehensive title offers a thorough overview of the history, constitutional basis, statutory structure, regulatory provisions, administrative procedure, and ethical principles related to immigration law and practice. Updated to reflect developments since the 2016 Presidential election, it is valuable both as a teaching and a practice reference.
Immigration Law Sourcebook by
Call Number: KF4819.85 .I4674 2013 (Stacks)
Publication Date: 2013
From the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1952 to the Rules for Alien Terrorist Removal to U.S. Courts, The Immigration Law Sourcebook is your complete guide to U.S. immigration source material, including all the relevant acts, titles, and rules.
Immigration Procedures Handbook (Vols 1 & 2) by
Call Number: KF4819 .I484 2015-2016 v.1 & KF4819 .I484 2015-2016 v.2 (Reference)
Publication Date: 2015-2016
Immigration Procedures Handbook contains explanations of how, where, and why to present specific types of petitions and applications under today's immigration laws. This detailed sourcebook also contains analysis of current law, as well as recent changes that affect immigration practice and procedure, to assist you in determining the most effective method of proceeding with a case.
Immigration Relief: Legal Assistance for Noncitizen Crime Victims by
Call Number: KF4819 .S48 2014 (Stacks)
Publication Date: 2014
This essential resource synthesizes, explains, and guides the reader through all of the crucial components of this area of the law. Its careful organization, thorough explanations, and clear presentation demystify the daunting array of immigration statutes, cases, regulations, practice manuals, and policy memoranda that govern the adjudication of applications for immigration relief for immigrant victims of crime.
U. S. Immigration Made Easy by
Call Number: KF4819.6 .C3 2019 (Reference)
Publication Date: 2019
Green cards, visas, and more: Want to live, work, or travel in the United States? You'll learn: whether you and your family qualify for a short-term visa, permanent U.S. residence, or protection from deportation; how to obtain, fill out, and submit the necessary forms and documents; insider tips on dealing with bureaucratic officials, delays, and denials; strategies for overcoming low income and other immigration barriers; and where to find the latest immigration forms online. There's also an immigration eligibility self-quiz, which helps you match your background and skills to a likely category of visa or green card--and avoid traps that might destroy your chances. NOTE: Does not cover naturalization.