LibGuides: State Tax Research: Tax Policy

Policy orgs

Many organizations exist to conduct research in tax law and policy. These can be sources for data as well arguments. As in all research, however, it is important to consider the goals, audience and ideological bent of any resource.

Tax Foundation
"The Tax Foundation is the nation’s leading independent tax policy nonprofit. Since 1937, our principled research, insightful analysis, and engaged experts have informed smarter tax policy at the federal, state, and global levels. For over 80 years, our goal has remained the same: to improve lives through tax policies that lead to greater economic growth and opportunity."
Tax Policy Center
"The Urban-Brookings Tax Policy Center aims to provide independent analyses of current and longer-term tax issues and to communicate its analyses to the public and to policymakers in a timely and accessible manner. The Center combines top national experts in tax, expenditure, budget policy, and microsimulation modeling to concentrate on overarching areas of tax policy that are critical to future debate."
Natitional Conference of State Legislatures: Tax Policy
"NCSL, founded in 1975, represents the legislatures in the states, territories and commonwealths of the U.S. Its mission is to advance the effectiveness, independence and integrity of legislatures and to foster interstate cooperation and facilitate the exchange of information among legislatures.

NCSL also represents legislatures in dealing with the federal government, especially in support of state sovereignty and state flexibility and protection from unfunded federal mandates and unwarranted federal preemption. The conference promotes cooperation between state legislatures in the U.S. and those in other countries.

In addition, NCSL is committed to improving the operations and management of state legislatures, and the effectiveness of legislators and legislative staff. NCSL also encourages the practice of high standards of conduct by legislators and legislative staff."

Non-law databases

While Heinonline is the best source for law review articles, tax law is a topic important to other disciplines and it may be worthwhile to look at articles from journals and databases that focus on economics and busisness.

ABI/INFORM Complete
On the "Discover" page that appears, click the link that says "PROQUEST DATABASES." If you are working off-campus, you will be asked to log in; use your Net ID and active directory password.

EconLit with Full Text This link opens in a new window
EconLit is a full-text database of economics literature.

Regional Business News
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.