LibGuides: Federal Employment Law: Treatises, News, Periodicals and Handbooks

Employment Law Handbooks and Guides

Employment Law Checklists by Julia Palca, Catherine Taylor
Call Number: 344.4201 P173e2009

The Law Library has several print resources on labor and employment topics. Try the catalog for further resources.

Employment Law (Hornbook Series) by Mark A. Rothstein; Charles B. Craver; Elinor P. Schroeder; Elaine W. Shoben
Call Number: KF3455 .E4682 2010
ISBN: 0314200142
Publication Date: 2009-11-30
Designed for use with any casebook, the fourth edition has been expanded and updated, including the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, anti-discrimination laws, health benefits, privacy in employment, and more.
Employment Law in a Nutshell by Robert Covington; Joseph Seiner
Call Number: KF2905.3 .Z9 B68 2017
This Nutshell provides an overview of individual employee rights and responsibilities. It addresses a number of areas, including establishing and ending the employment relationship, protection of employee privacy and reputation, discrimination, regulation of wages and hours, employee physical safety, fringe benefits, and employee duties of loyalty.
Employment Discrimination Law : Cases and Materials on Equality in the Workplace by Dianne Avery ... [et al.]
Call Number: KF3464.A7 J66 2010

Employment Law Websites and Reference

News and Current Awareness

Workplace Prof Blog
News and analysis posts from law school professors teaching Employment Law, Employment Discrimination, Labor Law, Benefits, and related courses.
Findlaw Labor and Employment Law News
Short news stories on current events.
ABA Journal Labor and Employment News
Short updates on current labor and employment news issues.

Employment Law Treatises

Termination of Employment [Westlaw]
Termination of Employment is a complete, fully indexed and cross-referenced legal guide to termination of employment, covering federal and state law. Law access only.
Larson on Employment Discrimination [Lexis]
Comprehensive coverage that keeps pace with the continuing evolution of the law relating to employment discrimination based on race, sex, religion, national origin, age, disability and union membership.
Larson's Workers Compensation Law [Lexis]
The comprehensive, authoritative treatise on workers compensation law used by all state commissions and cited, with great frequency, by courts in all states. Law access only.

Labor & Employment Law Resource Center (BNA) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news, practitioner resources,expert analysis, case law, agency decisions, and other primary sources.
Labor and Employment Law (Federal) This link opens in a new window
This CCH library includes CCHs Employment Law Daily news service, 12 newsletters/journals, CCH explanatory materials, 21 Aspen treatises, official agency manuals for the EEOC, NLRB, and the OFCCP, and comprehensive primary source materials. Specifically, the database contains over 200,000 labor and employment cases with archives back to 1937, daily updates of case law in the Most Recent Federal and State Court Decisions database, and a comprehensive collection of Labor Arbitration Awards dating back to 1986. Practice tools include a chart-based Labor Arbitrator Biographies and Awards tool.
EEOC Compliance Manual This link opens in a new window
Also available on Westlaw (CoL only)

Employment Law Periodicals

LexisNexis Uni This link opens in a new window
contains primary legal resources (case law, statutory law, and administrative law) at the federal and state level, plus law reviews and journals and some international coverage

Employment law is a common topic in law reviews and journals and can be searched through Westlaw and Lexis (law access only). Listed here are some other databases of legal periodicals, as well as a handful of the leading journals on labor and employment law.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides law reviews and journal articles prior to the dates traditionally covered by Lexis and Westlaw. Provides full text search capabilities.

The Law Library

Law Library

Email Me

Contact:

504 E. Pennsylvania Ave.
Champaign, Illinois 61820

Reference Desk : (217) 244-0614