LibGuides: Federal Employment Law: Statutes, Regulations and Decisions

Employment Law Statutes and Regulations

Statutes:

Federal Employment Law is codified in several sections of the US Code. The annotated version of the US Code is available in print at call number KF62.W4 and can be searched at Westlaw or Lexis.

U.S. Code- from the Office of the Law Revision Counsel - House of Representatives.
The United States Code is a consolidation and codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives.
Westlaw's Labor and Employment Statutes

Regulations:

Agency regulations involving employment law can be found in the Code of Federal Regulations. To find specific regulations, consult the CFR's index (call number KF70.A2) or search the CFR on Westlaw or Lexis.

e-Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) via GovInfo
This is the online version of the Code of Federal Regulations.It is maintained by the Government Publishing Office's GovInfo.

Employment Law Cases and Agency Decisions

Court and Agency Decisions:

Employment law disputes can often involve various federal agencies as well as the federal courts. There are several databases that allow searching of employment law-related agency or court decisions.

Westlaw Precision This link opens in a new window
Westlaw contains primary Law for all U.S. jurisdiction plus secondary sources and analytical material. See also Lexis Advance, and Bloomberg Law.
This subscription is available by login and password and limited to College of Law students and Faculty.
Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
New interface for LexisNexis. Lexis Advance contains primary Law for all U.S. jurisdiction plus secondary sources and analytical material. See also Westlaw Next, Lois Law and Bloomberg Law.
This subscription is available by login and password and limited to College of Law students and Faculty.
Labor and Employment Law (Federal) This link opens in a new window
This CCH library includes CCHs Employment Law Daily news service, 12 newsletters/journals, CCH explanatory materials, 21 Aspen treatises, official agency manuals for the EEOC, NLRB, and the OFCCP, and comprehensive primary source materials. Specifically, the database contains over 200,000 labor and employment cases with archives back to 1937, daily updates of case law in the Most Recent Federal and State Court Decisions database, and a comprehensive collection of Labor Arbitration Awards dating back to 1986. Practice tools include a chart-based Labor Arbitrator Biographies and Awards tool.
Labor & Employment Law Resource Center (BNA) This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news, practitioner resources,expert analysis, case law, agency decisions, and other primary sources.

The Law Library

Law Library

Email Me

Contact:

504 E. Pennsylvania Ave.
Champaign, Illinois 61820

Reference Desk : (217) 244-0614