Privacy Law Fundamentals (Bloomberg Law)
Privacy & Data Security Reference Library (Bloomberg Law)
Includes materials on: U.S. privacy enforcement, so-called cybersecurity, protection of intellectual property and commercial data, data management and cloud computing, e-discovery, and international compliance.
Corporate Counsel's Guide to Privacy (Westlaw Edge)
Focuses mainly on two principal areas, privacy in the workplace, and privacy relating to the Internet and e-commerce.
Data Security and Privacy Law (Westlaw Edge)
Information Security and Privacy: A Guide to Federal and State Law and Compliance (Westlaw Edge)
Includes an overview of information security and privacy law in the United States. The 2021-2022 edition discusses the California Consumer Privacy Act, the Colorado Consumer Protection Act, and the Virginia Consumer Data Protection Act
Information Security and Privacy: A Guide to International Law & Compliance (Westlaw Edge)
Includes regulatory and compliance guidance across foreign jurisdictions, identification of legal issues that result from gathering information in the fields of, among others, financial privacy, outsourcing, electronic health records and personal health records, and social networking.
E-Commerce and Internet Law: Treatise with Forms (2d ed.) (Westlaw Edge)
Revised and updated edition provides complete legal authority on e-commerce and Internet law, covering business-to-business and business-to-customer issues, regulatory issues, and emerging trends.
Intended to serve as a helpful tool in contingency planning and navigating a data breach by by identifying jurisdiction-specific data breach notification requirements.
Guidebook to the Freedom of Information and Privacy Acts (Westlaw Edge)
Provides in-depth analysis, plus legislative history, interpretive court decisions, and procedures and guidelines for requesting personal, business, and government data. Includes state-by-state appendices and forms.
Information Law (Westlaw Edge)
Data Privacy Law: An International Perspective (Oxford University Press; Oxford Academic)
From the publisher: "Although over 100 countries have developed data privacy laws, there is a lack of expert guidance on these laws. This text examines the fundamental aims and principles of data privacy law, along with the mechanisms for its enforcement in an international context. The book analyses relevant law from around the globe, paying particular attention to international instruments and using these as a foundation for examining national law. It also places data privacy law within a broader legal and political framework, focusing upon its interrelation with related fields, such as human rights, administrative law, and intellectual property right.
Jay P. Kesan & Carol M. Hayes, Cybersecurity and Privacy Law in a Nutshell (2d ed.) (2019)
Law Library Practical Skills Collection: KF390.5 C6 K47 2019
John T. Soma, Stephen D. Rynerson & Erica Kitaev, Privacy Law in a Nutshell (2d ed.) (2014)
Law Library Practical Skills Collection: KF1262.2.65 2014
From the publisher: “"The essential road map for understanding-and defending-your right to privacy in the twenty-first century. Privacy is disappearing. From our sex lives to our workout routines, the details of our lives once relegated to pen and paper have joined the slipstream of new technology. As a MacArthur fellow and distinguished professor of law at the University of Virginia, acclaimed civil rights advocate Danielle Citron has spent decades working with lawmakers and stakeholders across the globe to protect what she calls intimate privacy-encompassing our bodies, health, gender, and relationships. When intimate privacy becomes data, corporations know exactly when to flash that ad for a new drug or pregnancy test. Social and political forces know how to manipulate what you think and who you trust, leveraging sensitive secrets and deepfake videos to ruin or silence opponents. And as new technologies invite new violations, people have power over one another like never before, from revenge porn to blackmail, attaching life-altering risks to growing up, dating online, or falling in love. A masterful new look at privacy in the twenty-first century, The Fight for Privacy takes the focus off Silicon Valley moguls to investigate the price we pay as technology migrates deeper into every aspect of our lives: entering our bedrooms and our bathrooms and our midnight texts; our relationships with friends, family, lovers, and kids; and even our relationship with ourselves. Drawing on in-depth interviews with victims, activists, and advocates, Citron brings this headline issue home for readers by weaving together visceral stories about the countless ways that corporate and individual violators exploit privacy loopholes. Exploring why the law has struggled to keep up, she reveals how our current system leaves victims-particularly women, LGBTQ+ people, and marginalized groups-shamed and powerless while perpetrators profit, warping cultural norms around the world. Yet there is a solution to our toxic relationship with technology and privacy: fighting for intimate privacy as a civil right. Collectively, Citron argues, citizens, lawmakers, and corporations have the power to create a new reality where privacy is valued and people are protected as they embrace what technology offers. Introducing readers to the trailblazing work of advocates today, Citron urges readers to join the fight. Your intimate life shouldn't be traded for profit or wielded against you for power: it belongs to you. With Citron as our guide, we can take back control of our data and build a better future for the next, ever more digital, generation" .”
Law Library New Books: KF1262.C58 2022
LAWRENCE M. FRIEDMAN, THE WALLED GARDEN: LAW AND PRIVACY IN MODERN SOCIETY (2022)
From the publisher: "This book examines our basic understandings of privacy as they are challenged by modern technology, changing social mores, and evolving legal understandings that both reflect and reinforce underlying changes in society."
Law Library Staicks: KF1262.F759 2022
PRIVACY RIGHTS IN THE DIGITAL AGE (Jane E. Kritley & Michael Shally-Jensen eds. 2019)
Encyclopedia. Discusses "the practical, political, psychological, and philosophical challenges of technological advances have changed the landscape of traditional notions of privacy."
Available through I-share or Interlibrary Loan.
WOODROW HARTZHOG, PRIVACY'S BLUEPRINT: THE BATTLE TO CONTROL THE DESIGN OF NEW TECHNOLOGIES (2018)
From the publisher: "Every day, Internet users interact with technologies designed to undermine their privacy. Social media apps, surveillance technologies, and the Internet of things are all built in ways that make it hard to guard personal information. And the law says this is okay because it is up to users to protect themselves--even when the odds are deliberately stacked against them. In Privacy's Blueprint, Woodrow Hartzog pushes back against this state of affairs, arguing that the law should require software and hardware makers to respect privacy in the design of their products. Current legal doctrine treats technology as though it were value-neutral: only the user decides whether it functions for good or ill. But this is not so. As Hartzog explains, popular digital tools are designed to expose people and manipulate users into disclosing personal information. Against the often self-serving optimism of Silicon Valley and the inertia of tech evangelism, Hartzog contends that privacy gains will come from better rules for products, not users. The current model of regulating use fosters exploitation. Privacy's Blueprint aims to correct this by developing the theoretical underpinnings of a new kind of privacy law responsive to the way people actually perceive and use digital technologies. The law can demand encryption. It can prohibit malicious interfaces that deceive users and leave them vulnerable. It can require safeguards against abuses of biometric surveillance. It can, in short, make the technology itself worthy of our trust."
Law Library Stacks: KF1262.H37 2018
KHIARA M. BRIDGES, THE POVERTY OF PRIVACY RIGHTS (2017)
"This book makes a simple, controversial argument: Poor mothers in America have been deprived of the right to privacy. The U.S. Constitution is supposed to bestow rights equally. Yet the poor are subject to invasions of privacy that can be perceived as gross demonstrations of governmental power without limits. Courts have routinely upheld the constitutionality of privacy invasions on the poor, and legal scholars typically understand marginalized populations to have "weak versions" of the privacy rights everyone else enjoys. Khiara M. Bridges investigates poor mothers' experiences with the state-both when they receive public assistance and when they do not. Presenting a holistic view of just how the state intervenes in all facets of poor mothers' privacy, Bridges shows how the Constitution has not been interpreted to bestow these women with family, informational, and reproductive privacy rights. Bridges seeks to turn popular thinking on its head: Poor mothers' lack of privacy is not a function of their reliance on government assistance-rather it is a function of their not bearing any privacy rights in the first place. Until we disrupt the cultural narratives that equate poverty with immorality, poor mothers will continue to be denied this right."
Law Library Stacks: KF1262.B753 2017
CHRIS JAY HOOFNAGLE, FEDERAL TRADE COMMISSION PRIVACY LAW AND POLICY (2016)
From the publisher: "The Federal Trade Commission, a US agency created in 1914 to police the problem of 'bigness', has evolved into the most important regulator of information privacy - and thus innovation policy - in the world. Its policies profoundly affect business practices and serve to regulate most of the consumer economy. In short, it now regulates our technological future. Despite its stature, however, the agency is often poorly understood by observers and even those who practice before it. This volume by Chris Jay Hoofnagle - an internationally recognized scholar with more than fifteen years of experience interacting with the FTC - is designed to redress this confusion by explaining how the FTC arrived at its current position of power. It will be essential reading for lawyers, legal academics, political scientists, historians and anyone else interested in understanding the FTC's privacy activities and how they fit in the context of the agency's broader consumer protection mission."
Law Library Stacks: KF1262.H66 2016
Also available online here. (Cambridge Core)
PRIVACY RIGHTS IN THE DIGITAL AGE (Christopher Anglim ed. 2015) (Gale eBooks)
Encyclopedia. Discusses "the practical, political, psychological, and philosophical challenges we face as technological advances have changed the landscape of traditional notions of privacy."
DANIEL J. SOLOVE & PAUL M. SCHWARTZ, PRIVACY, LAW ENFORCEMENT AND NATIONAL SECURITY (2018)
Law Library Stacks: KF4850.265 2018
RICHARD C. TURKINGTON & ANITA L. ALLEN, PRIVACY LAW: CASES AND MATERIALS (2002)
Law Library Stacks: KF1262.A7 T87 2002