LibGuides: International Humanitarian Law: Introduction

Key Definitions & Concepts

International Humanitarian Law

Also known as the Law of War or the Law of Armed Conflict, International Humanitarian Law is generally defined as “a set of rules which seek, for humanitarian reasons, to limit the effects of armed conflict. It protects persons who are not or are no longer participating in the hostilities and restricts the means and methods of warfare." See International Committee of the Red Cross, What is International Humanitarian Law (July 2004), available as a PDF below.

Lieber Code of 1863

Enforced during the American Civil War, the Lieber Code of 1863 is recognized as the first modern understanding of International Humanitarian Law. See Diakonia, Sources of International Humanitarian Law (2010), available as a link below.

Hague Conventions

The first Hague Conference in 1899 and the second Hague Conference in 1907 governed the legal framework and conduct of warfare. See Diakonia, Sources of International Humanitarian Law (2010), available as a link below.

Geneva Conventions

The Four Geneva Conventions of 1949 established protections for those not taking part in hostilities, such as civilians, aid workers, wounded soldiers, and prisoners of war. See Diakonia, Sources of International Humanitarian Law (2010), available as a link below.

See Diakonia, Basic Principles of IHL (2010), available as a link below. See also How Does Law Protect in War, Fundamental Principles of IHL (2019), available as a link below.

International Humanitarian Law Databases

Customary IHL
The Customary IHL database was created by the International Committee of the Red Cross. It contains an analysis of existing Customary International Humanitarian Law rules.
HeinOnline's World Treaty Library
HeinOnline's World Treaty Library offers access to United States treaties from 1776 and treaties as early as 1648.
ICRC Treaties, States Parties, and Commentaries
The International Committee of the Red Cross Treaties, States Parties, and Commentaries Database offers access to several International Humanitarian Law treaties, conventions and protocols.
National Implementation of IHL
The National implementation of IHL database was created by the International Committee of the Red Cross. It provides a comprehensive overview on International Humanitarian Law measures taken by all states.

Other International Humanitarian Law Resources

International Committee of the Red Cross
The International Committee of the Red Cross provides a comprehensive collection of resources and documents on International Humanitarian Law. The collection is divided into sections labeled "The Law," "The Practice," and "Pedagogical Resources." You are also able to search the collection by using their A-Z guide.
Peace Palace Library IHL Guide
This Law Library guide includes various books, articles, and resources on International Humanitarian Law.

Genocide, Crimes Against Humanity, and War Crimes Jurisdiction
Genocide, Crimes Against Humanity, and War Crimes Jurisdiction is a chart maintained by the Law library of Congress. The chart reports on 149 jurisdictions that have laws punishing at least one of the three crimes, genocide, crimes against humanity, or war crimes. It also indicates whether those laws cover international persons when the offense is committed within the territory as well as when international persons commit offenses outside of the country's borders.
International Humanitarian Law Electronic Resource Guide
This International Humanitarian Law Electronic Resources Guide was published by the American Society of International Law. It is a free online resource that provides links to several topics of interest on International Humanitarian Law.

Courts with Jurisdiction to Try International Humanitarian Law Offenses

The International Court of Justice
The International Court of Justice is a principal judicial body of the United Nations. It was established in June of 1945. The court has jurisdiction over issues relating to International Humanitarian Law offenses.
International Criminal Court
The International Criminal Court was created in 1988 by the Rome statue as a permanent, international criminal court with jurisdiction over war crimes, genocide, and crimes against humanity.