Search the UIUC Library Catalog
Need More Help?
Visit the Reference Desk
or email us at: law-library@illinois.edu
or call us at 217-244-0614
For the Circulation Desk, please call 217-333-2915.
ASPEN LEARNING LIBRARY NOW AVAILABLE!
Did you know the Law Library provides you unlimited access to the Aspen Learning Library? The Aspen Learning Library provides you with access to hundreds of resources to help overcome common trouble areas for law students—from issue spotting and analysis of fact patterns to learning black letter law and applying the rules. It’s simply a matter of finding the study aid that’s right for you. Create your account here!
STUDY SPOTS ACROSS CAMPUS
Looking for places outside the Law School to study? Check out this directory of all campus libraries available for studying. This directory includes expected volume levels and capacity, and links out to all the different libraries' websites with hours. Or, check out this article from the Daily Illini which highlights coffee shops and other campus buildings that may meet your study environment needs.
Having trouble finding something, need some guidance in researching or writing, or want answers to any of the many reference questions you might have? Email the Reference Desk at law-library@illinois.edu
- Instructing students on legal research techniques
- Developing programs and tools such as LibGuides for all types of research endeavors
- Creating a collection that includes:
- Tools to research potential employers
- Current information of practice of law
- Core legal research tools, practice skills and study aids
- Training individuals, groups and student organizations on specific legal and non-legal resources
Providing loaners for wish-I-had situations such as phone chargers, power cords, umbrellas, games, etc.
To request additional support or suggest new services, email your request to law-library@illinois.edu
Law Librarians can assist with both their teaching and scholarly research.
IN THE CLASSROOM
- Offer updates on instructional technology use and trends
- Gather and prepare reserve materials
- Deliver one-time research lectures during class session
- Create course specific bibliographies and research guides
- Provide embedded librarian for seminar courses
REFERENCE
- Assist with citation analysis and blue book
- Provide references for research needs via our Reference Desk
- In-person, see Hours of Operation
- Email at law-refdesk@illinois.edu
- Telephone, 217.244.0614
RESEARCH
- Partner and assist with research projects and related tasks
- Train and supervise faculty research assistants
For a more thorough discussion of our services, see our Faculty Services Guide.
ILLINOIS STUDENTS & FACULTY
We support the main University, students and faculty by:
- Providing physical and electronic access to law materials via shared catalog
- Offering reference support at our Reference Desk with drop-in hours and via email
- Supporting instruction objectives by providing tours and introduction to law materials upon request
- Collaborating on digitization and storage projects to preserve unique materials
- Reference assistance in person or via email
- Collections to support legal community and public
- Provide consultations, training and community programming upon request
The University of Illinois Law Library staff cannot give legal advice. We provide reference services and research guides as a service to our users and they are not intended to be taken as legal or non-legal advice on any subject. The legal information provided in this website is for general reference only, and should not be relied upon for legal purposes. You should always consult a lawyer to determine your legal rights.
- UIUC Law Library Patron Conduct Policies Document outlining the expected conduct of all Jenner Law Library patrons.