Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News and Analysis
ABA Journal News
News and analysis on topics such as access to justice and diversity.
Bloomberg Law News
News and analysis including social justice topics, from sexual harassment to racial discrimination.
This website aimed at legal professionals features news and analysis arranged by topics including diversity and civil rights.
Westlaw Edge News
Searchable database of news and analysis, highlighting topics such as criminal justice.
Includes publications from alternative, independent presses, providing an unmatched, multidisciplinary resource for researchers seeking an alternative to mainstream media perspectives.
America: History & Life
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes journals from 1964 to present and includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
Black Abolitionist Papers
This primary source collection presents the international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves. The digital collection reproduces in full the 17 reels of microfilmed content from the original collection and provides a searchable, easily accessible format for research, teaching, and study.
Black Studies Center
Black Studies Center combines invaluable resources for research and teaching in Black studies. This fully cross-searchable gateway to Black studies includes scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and much more.
Black Thought and Culture
Searchable and browsable database of non-fiction works by African-American leaders and others who have dealt substantially with issues of race in America. Includes books, essays, articles, speeches, letters, interviews, and other materials, some of which have not previously been published.
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Provides information on social issues, including viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.
Mass Incarceration and Prison Studies
Aimed at the study of incarceration from a global perspective, this database includes archival materials, reference texts, court cases, first-hand accounts, videos, Supreme Court audio files, rehabilitation research, training materials, and artistic works.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide.
Race Relations in America
Based at Fisk University from 1943-1970, the Race Relations Department and its annual Institute were set up by the American Missionary Association to investigate problem areas in race relations and develop methods for educating communities and preventing conflict.
A collection of books, encyclopedias and handbooks in the environmental and social sciences.
Visually presented research findings on a variety of legal and social issues in the United States
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text offers comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Law Reviews & Journals
HeinOnline collections featuring journals devoted to legal issues involving:
- Civil Rights: dozens of journals dedicated to matters including racial justice, largely in the U.S.
- Human Rights: journals dedicated to social justice issues worldwide, including foreign and international periodicals.
Crime, Law, and Social Change
Highlighting the intersections and tensions between social justice and the criminal justice system in the U.S. and worldwide, including examinations of punishment strategies and disparate treatment of particular people.
Harvard Journals and Publications on Law and Social Change
A variety of publications examining social justice issues such as civil liberties, human rights, gender, race, and ethnicity.
Law Journal for Social Justice
Arizona State journal discussing social problems and suggesting reforms on topics including incarceration, sexual abuse, and discrimination.
N.Y.U. Review of Law & Social Change
Exploring legal and ethical concerns about topics such as immigration, criminal justice, and child welfare governance.
Stanford Journal of Civil Rights and Civil Liberties
Critiquing the legal system’s effects on social justice in areas such as immigration, race, and policing.
University of Pennsylvania Journal of Law and Social Change
Examining social justice issues such as access to justice, community planning, and the criminal justice system.
Continuing Commentary from the Legal Community