Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Video Databases (University of Illinois Access)
Academic Video Online
A comprehensive video subscription spanning a wide range of topics such as anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. AVON includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage.
American History in Video
At completion, American History in Video will include 2,000 total hours of streaming video content. More than half will be contemporaneous video from the 1890s to the 1980s. The early newsreels, including the complete series of United Newsreel and Universal Newsreel, available online in their entirety only in this collection, capture history as it was made and reported to viewers of the time ... American History in Video also includes hundreds of the documentaries most frequently used in history classrooms, from leading video content producers such as PBS, California Newsreel, Bullfrog Films, Documentary Educational Resources, Pennebaker Hegedus Films, The History Channel, and others.
Black Studies in Video
In partnership with California Newsreel, the oldest non-profit social issue documentary film center in the country, this collection includes cutting-edge racial justice and diversity films that inspire, educate and engage audiences. Additionally, Black Studies in Video features access to the SNCC Legacy Video Collection, a series of formal addresses, panel discussions and programs that took place at a conference and reunion unfolding over four days at Shaw University in Raleigh, North Carolina, commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the founding of the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides students and faculty access to more than 26,000 films. Kanopy provides students access to one of the largest collections of films in the world – including award-winning documentaries, training films and theatrical releases – on every topic imaginable.
An audio series from The Times observing the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery.
Archive of frank conversation about race and ethnicity in America.
All My Relations
A podcast where the hosts explore what it means to be a Native person in 2019. To be an Indigenous person is to be engaged in relationships—relationships to land and place, to a people, to non-human relatives, and to one another. All My Relations is a place to explore those relationships, and to think through Indigeneity in all its complexities.
Antiracist Pod Squad
Austin Channing Brown's podcast newsletter series tackling contemporary issues and highlighting anti-racist practices.
Hosted by a group of journalists of color, Code Switch explores how race influences every facet of society — from politics to pop culture to history.
Combing The Roots
A Black woman's in-depth perspective on racism, justice, and racial healing in America.
Irresistible celebrates the many movement leaders, cultural workers, and spiritual teachers who have inspired liberation and resistance through the years.
Hosted by Kimberlé Crenshaw, Intersectionality Matters explores a number of contemporary and contextual topics in critical race theory.
A podcast about the intersections of race, gender, and the Muslim faith.
Pod For The Cause
Pod for the Cause was established for those wanting to have deep conversations about racial justice and effect change in their everyday lives.
Pod Save The People
DeRay Mckesson's podcast about activism, social justice, culture, and politics.
In this radio docuseries, John Biewen explores the notion of whiteness in contemporary America.
Speaking of Racism
A podcast dedicated to open, honest, and respectful conversations on race and racism in America.
Wesley Morris and Jenna Wortham, two culture writers for The New York Times, explore the pleasures and pathologies of America through discussions about TV, movies, art, music, and the internet.
A podcast that celebrates Black genius, innovation, and resilience on a global scale.
We Talk Different
A podcast that explores the intersections of race, ethnicity, and gender in politics, culture, and theology.
A podcast that revisits the murder of Rev. James Reeb in a 1965 Selma, Alabama and exposes the series of lies that kept the murder from being solved.
Steaming Video (Commercial Vendors)