LibGuides: Children's Health, Violence, and the Law: Criminal Law

Organizations

Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention
OJJDP, a component of the Office of Justice Programs, U.S. Department of Justice, accomplishes its mission by supporting states, local communities, and tribal jurisdictions in their efforts to develop and implement effective programs for juveniles. The Office strives to strengthen the juvenile justice system's efforts to protect public safety, hold offenders accountable, and provide services that address the needs of youth and their families.
Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice
The mission of the Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice is to enhance public safety and positive youth outcomes by providing strength-based individualized services to youth in a safe learning and treatment environment so that they may successfully reintegrate into their communities.

ABA Section of Family Law
Illinois Department of Children & Family Services
Child Welfare Gateway
A service of the USDHHS, search for or browse publications (articles, fact sheets, reports), Children's Bureau Express articles, related organizations, conferences and events, and more information.
Defending Childhood (Archived)

Youth Violence
From the CDC's Injury Prevention & Control : Division of Violence Prevention
Office of Justice Programs
U.S. Department of Justice

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
PsychINFO is a database of journals and articles in psychology.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The database features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for over 16,800 conference papers.

Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law by Brian L. Cutler (Editor)
Call Number: K346 .E53 2008
ISBN: 9781412951890
Publication Date: 2007-12-21
The Encyclopedia of Psychology and Law addresses the interface of psychology and law and draws from the related discipline of criminal justice.
The Federal Child Protection Laws Sourcebook by American Bar Association Staff
Call Number: KF9323 .A3 2014
ISBN: 9781627225892
Publication Date: 2014-06-01
Juvenile Law : Predelinquency and Delinquency by Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education
Call Number: KFI1796 .I44 2021
Publication Date: 2021
Located in Illinois Alcove

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The U.S. BJS states that it is "the United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics." Search using keywords such as: "juvenile", "youth", "juvenile victims", and "juvenile offenders".
Statistical Briefing Book
Data analysis and dissemination tools available through the Statistical Briefing Book give users quick and easy access to detailed statistics on a variety of juvenile justice topics. These tools allow users to create national, state, and county tables on juvenile populations, arrests, court cases, and custody populations. -- U.S. Department of Justice's Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Protection.
Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice Data & Reports
Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice (IDJJ) Monthly Reports, Summary of Admissions to IDJJ, Monthly Youth Profiles, Annual Reports, IDJJ Performance-Based Standards, Other Reports.

National Survey of State Laws - Criminal Laws
"This database version of Rich Leiter's National Survey of State Laws provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. The new 7th edition, along with the 6th and 5th editions, are included in database format, which also allows users to compare the same laws as they existed in 2005, 2008 and 2015. All print editions are included."