Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
School Law Blog
Covers news and analysis on legal developments affecting schools, educators, and parents. Maintained by Education Week, a publication of Editorial Projects in Education, an independent, non-profit organization whose mission is to raise awareness and understanding of critical issues facing American schools.
Education Bill Tracking Database
This searchable database tracks education legislation passed by state legislatures from the 2008 session to present. Issues that are tracked include teacher and principals, school choice, higher education/postsecondary education, education finance and funding, religion in schools, high school graduation/dropouts, testing, accountability, afterschool and STEM. Search legislation by state, topic, status, primary sponsor, bill number or keyword. Maintained by National Conference of State Legislatures.
National School Boards Association Legal Research Database
NSBA represents state school boards associations and their more than 90,000 local school board members.
50 State Surveys
National Survey of State Laws
This database version of Rich Leiter's National Survey of State Laws provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws. The new 7th edition, along with the 6th and 5th editions, are included in database format, which also allows users to compare the same laws as they existed in 2005, 2008 and 2015.