Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Law 792-GRD: Legal Research and Writing for LLMs: Legal Encyclopedia

Legal Encyclopedia

Corpus Juris Secunmdum and American Jurisprudence 2d

 

The broadest coverage of the widest variety of legal topics are found in Legal Encyclopedias. 

When you don’t know which type of secondary source to use,

START HERE.

There are two National Legal Encyclopedias:

Corpus Juis Secundom (CJS)

   CJS is more scholarly and historical

American Jurisprudence 2d (AmJur)

   AmJur is more practical   

 

Many states also have Legal Encyclopedias.  Illinois has two:

Illinois Law & Practice KFI 1265 .I442X

Illinois Jurisprudence  KFI 1230.5 .L38

      They are found in the Illinois Alcove near the Reference Desk.

 

VIDEO: Encyclopedias

Finding

PRINT: AM JUR 2d is found on the shelves in the middle of the main Reading Room

 

ONLINE:  Lexis, or Westlaw

Accessing

Legal Encyclopedias sometimes use "hidebound" (old) terms, so it's always a good idea to begin in the INDEX.  

      Example:  when you look up Sale of Real Property, you will be directed to a topic called Vendor & Purchaser.
 

CROSS REFERENCES

American Jurisprudence - General Index

Sale of Real Property, Vendor & Purchaser This Index

Vendor & Purchaser

Assent

acceptance, above

offers, below

  1.  

 

 

 

 

 

 

This Index = find the index volume that covers the letter V and look there for Vendor & Purchaser 

above = stay in this listing, but look for a sub-topc above (supra)

below = stay in this listing, but look for a sub-topic below (infra)

Updating

Legal Encyclopedias are updated with annual Pocket Parts.  

   Be sure to check the same Topic and Section Number in the pocket part insert in the back of the volume.

Additional Resources

Legal Research in a Nutshell, pp. 32-36.