Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WELCOME TO LAW 792-G
Welcome to the LAW 792-G LibGuide. This semester you will be introduced to and practice the skills needed to search for relevant legal authority, both in print and electronic forms. These skills and conventions include how to find, choose, and cite to appropriate authority; how to evaluate legal resources; the ethical use of information in the law; and the legal research process.
This guide will serve as the main resource for class preparation and exam review in your Legal Research course. Specific course information can be accessed through the College of Law course page.
In addition to the information outlined within the LibGuide itself, you will find a variety of external links and resources. You may find other texts, websites, and resources will be helpful supplements to this guide and your coursework.
Importance of Legal Research
Legal research plays a primary and important role in a lawyer's job.
In fact, legal research provides the necessary grounding for almost all legal work. Effective legal research will directly affect the outcome of your client's legal problem. A lawyer cannot advance the strongest argument if they cannot find the strongest legal support for that argument. Lawyers have an ethical obligation to their clients to be thorough and efficient legal researchers. Efficiency in legal research can be defined as (1) the best possible result, (2) in the least possible time, (3) at the lowest possible cost. Efficiency is achieved through knowledge of research techniques and practice over time.
Ineffective or incompetent legal research can not only hurt your client, but can lead to discipline, civil liability, or even disbarment for you. For an example of how this could happen, read Deters v. Davis, 2011 WL 2417055 (E.D. Ky. June 13, 2011).
Legal Research Books & Study Aids
2013 Legal Assistant's Complete Desk Reference by
Call Number: KF320.L4 L449 2013
Publication Date: 2014-02-07
This is a complete guide to the rules and regulations guiding paralegals and legal assistants well as the many different types of forms they are responsible for each day.
Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies (7th ed.) by
Call Number: KF240 .S66 2018
Basic Legal Research: Tools and Strategies, Seventh Edition by Amy E. Sloan is known for its clear, step-by-step instruction in the basics. Using a building-block approach, the textbook breaks material into discrete, readily comprehensible parts. Self-contained chapters on sources make the book flexible for any type of legal research course. Useful pedagogy throughout the text includes end-of-chapter checklists, clear examples, and summary charts. Helpful sample pages and examples of research sources guide students through the presentation.
Basic Legal Research Workbook, 4e (Aspen Coursebook) by
Call Number: KF240 .S662 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-01
Teaches students about the research process and the scope and organization of research materials available to them. With balanced coverage of traditional print and current electronic sources.
Academic Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .V65 2016
Designed to help law students write and publish articles, this text provides detailed instructions for every aspect of the law school writing, research, and publication process. Topics covered include law review articles and student notes, seminar term papers, how to shift from research to writing, cite-checking others' work, publishing, and publicizing written works.
Experiential Legal Research by
Call Number: KF240 .D66 2011
Publication Date: 2011-08-10
Covers 1L material including finding federal and state statutes and cases, using secondary sources, and strategies for effective and efficient research; also covers upper-class courses with materials on administrative law and legislative history.
Federal Legal Research (1st ed.) by
Call Number: KF240 .F48 2012
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
The book begins with an overview of the sources of law and the research process. That chapter is followed with an in-depth discussion of American legal research strategies and techniques for both print and online sources.
Federal Legal Research (2nd ed.) by
Call Number: KF240 .F48 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-23
This book complements the state-focused Legal Research Series. Federal Legal Research offers concise explanations of primary authorities in the federal system, along with chapters on secondary sources, updating, legislative history, and legal ethics and court rules. The book covers current platforms in Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg; free online sources; and print sources. Federal Legal Research takes a process-oriented approach to research. Its in-depth discussions of strategies and techniques for conducting American legal research make it effective in classes that integrate research, writing, and analysis as well as in courses with a bibliographic approach.
Find Info Like a Pro by
Call Number: KF242.A1 L482 2011
Publication Date: 2012-03-16
Written for legal professionals (but also useful for anyone who needs to conduct investigative and background research), this comprehensive book describes how to use hundreds of Internet sites to uncover public records.
Finding the Answers to Legal Questions by
Call Number: KF240 .T83 2011
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
This is a comprehensive guide to help public librarians confidently assist users in finding the legal information they need whether for self-representation, to be an informed consumer of legal service, or to learn the workings of the courts.
Finding the Law by
Call Number: KF240 .B45 2005
Publication Date: 2008-03-18
A marriage of the newest forms of legal research and the underlying principles of legal information, Finding the Law provides a comprehensive treatment of print and digital sources of legal information.
Illinois Legal Research, 2e by
Call Number: KFI1275 .W65 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-01
Shows how to find and stay current with Illinois cases, statutes, regulations, and local court rules. Focusing on state materials, it can be used as a supplement to national research texts or on its own to learn legal research. This book also explains how to locate secondary materials specific to Illinois law. Although the text was designed primarily for law students, seasoned attorneys will also appreciate the many secrets of Illinois legal research disclosed in this text. Wojcik's book includes materials on on citing Illinois under the Bluebook (for both law review formats and practice documents), the ALWD Manual, and local court rules.
International Legal Research in a Nutshell by
Call Number: KZ1234 .H64 2017
This Nutshell provides a basic introduction to international and foreign legal research for the non-specialist. It offers guidance through the unfamiliar pathways of research using international and non-US legal legal materials and demystifies the world of treaties and international case law.
Just Research, 3e (Aspen Coursebook) by
Call Number: KF240 .O18 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-17
Just Research uses a process approach to teach students how to use print and electronic sources to research issues governed by state and federal statutes, common law, and constitutional law.
Lawyer's Craft by
Call Number: KF240 .L374 2002
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
The authors of this innovative book take the specific skills required to write a memo or brief and divided them into discrete building blocks that can be more easily absorbed by students.
Legal Guide to Cybersecurity Research by
Call Number: KF1617.C65 W47 2013
Publication Date: 2014-06-10
Contains tools to assist cybersecurity researchers, institutional review boards, and legal counsel in understanding the legal and policy considerations associated with researchers obtaining and using network communications data in cybersecurity research.
Legal Research and Writing Across the Curriculum : Problems and Exercises by
Call Number: KF240 .M87 2009
Publication Date: 2009-05-15
This supplemental text supports Murray and DeSanctis' Legal Writing and Analysis and Legal Research Methods, covering objective writing, legal research, and adversarial writing in a process method. It provides samples of good and bad writing and teaches the TREAT method and explanatory synthesis that produce powerful and effective objective and adversarial writing. The course book is paired with an electronic, computer-based version of the text that adds links to online databases and Internet-based resources and supplements the text with audio and visual explanations and depictions, and PowerPoint introductions to and summaries of the material.
Legal Research Illustrated by
Call Number: KF240 .J322 2002
Publication Date: 2002-07-30
This book provides an in-depth discussion of the legal research process, current legal research sources, computer-assisted research, key Internet sources, and other research aids.
Legal Research in a Nutshell, 13e by
Call Number: KF240 .C54 2018
Finding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers research procedures using major online services, free Internet resources, and library materials. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject, and a companion website has a regularly updated list of URLs and illustrations of online and print resources.
Legal Writing Handbook: Analysis, Research, and Writing by
Call Number: KF250 .O18 2006
Publication Date: 2006-05-12
Students and professors will welcome this new edition of the only text for legal writing and research that covers all three key components of the first-year course -- research, writing, and analysis.
Mastering Statutory Interpretation by
Call Number: KF425 .J455 2008
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Mastering Statutory Interpretation explains the methods of interpreting statutes, including a discussion of the various theories and canons of interpretation. The book begins by exploring these theories and identifying the sources of meaning the theorists use to interpret statutes, including intrinsic, extrinsic, and policy-based. Throughout, the text uses the major cases in each area of study to explain how the canons work in practice. Finally, each chapter provides a concise roadmap and summary to introduce and encapsulate the most important material.This book is part of the Carolina Academic Press Mastering Series edited by Russell L. Weaver, University of Louisville School of Law.
Essential Lawyering Skills: Interviewing, Counseling, Negotiation, and Persuasive Fact Analysis by
Call Number: KF300 .E84 2015
A readable and concise introduction to the essential skills of interviewing, counseling, negotiation, and fact analysis. Features: Incorporates the latest research on: cognitive science research on fact analysis; storytelling process; and negotiation theory. Includes state-of-the-art techniques for fact investigation. Plenty of examples promote interest, accessibility, and place topics in context.