Environmental Law

Farber's Environmental Law in a Nutshell provides an up-to-date foundation for understanding environmental law. Expert text includes coverage of the full range of environmental issues, from climate change and air pollution, to waste disposal and wetlands. Surveys the many statutory and common-law regulations shaping the world in which we live.

This thoroughly updated and revised second edition combines practical and theoretical analyses to cover a wide array of cutting edge issues in international environmental law (IEL). The Research Handbook provides a comprehensive view of the complexity of IEL, both as a field in its own right, and as part of the wider system of international law. Expert contributors examine the key theories and concepts of IEL governance and provide an in-depth analysis of IEL principles, supplemented in this new edition by a consideration of the significant actors involved in international environmental law-making and governance. Chapters go on to discuss practical issues, such as dispute settlement and compliance, and analyse selected environmental protection regimes, as well as including a brand new section covering IEL litigation in relation to human rights and climate change. Providing a thorough examination of the major topics in the field, this Handbook will be an indispensable resource for scholars and students of international environmental law. Practitioners and policymakers will also find it useful for its coverage of developments in environmental litigation and the actors involved.

This casebook emphasizes environmental policy, as well as the structure and details of the federal environmental statutes. It focuses students' attention on how tradeoffs between environmental goals and social goals are resolved in different and difficult contexts. The book pays close attention to the political context in which regulation takes place, looking at the impact of the federal government, interest groups, and administrative agencies in the regulatory process. It examines current efforts to address climate change and regulate greenhouse gases through existing statutory frameworks. The casebook includes substantial introductions and extensive notes and questions to guide classroom discussion. The book has been updated to reflect new developments in the law of natural resource management, water pollution, and climate change.

Percival’s High Court Case Summaries on Environmental Law, 8th contain well-prepared briefs for each major case in this casebook. High Court briefs are written to present the essential facts, issue, decision and rationale for each case in a clear, concise manner. While prepared briefs can never substitute for the insight gained by actually reading a case, these briefs will help readers to identify, understand, and absorb the core “take away” knowledge from each case. Moreover, these briefs are followed by a useful legal analysis, which provides extra tips and contextual background about each case, connecting the case to the broader concepts being developed throughout the casebook. This book also supplies case vocabulary, which defines new or unusual legal words found throughout the cases.