LibGuides: Environmental Law: Air

The EPA is The United States Environmental Protection Agency. The EPA was started on December 2, 1970, after President Nixon signed an executive order. Click the picture to link to the webpage containing these resources.

The Office of Air and Radiation (OAR) of EPA develops national programs, policies, and regulations for controlling air pollution and radiation exposure. OAR is concerned with:

pollution prevention and energy efficiency,
indoor and outdoor air quality,
industrial air pollution,
pollution from vehicles and engines,
radon,
acid rain,
stratospheric ozone depletion,
climate change, and
radiation protection.

OAR is responsible for administering the Clean Air Act, the Atomic Energy Act, the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant Land Withdrawal Act, and other applicable environmental laws.

*Government policy can be subject to frequent changes. Please be aware that links to government resources found in the Library catalog, on our Library Guides, and elsewhere may be affected by these changes. The best place to search for archives of older or missing government webpages is the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.

Statistics

Statistics by EPA
Various statistic including National Emissions By Source Category, Economic Growth with Cleaner Air, Criteria Pollutant Trends Show Clean Air Progress, Unhealthy Air Days, Visibility Improves in Scenic Areas, Air Toxics Levels, etc.

Books
Journals and Articles

Clean Air ACT by Roy S. Belden; Angela R. Morrison; American Bar Association, Section of Environment, Energy, and Resources Staff (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9781641059343

Publication Date: 2021-11-01

"The goal of this book is to provide legal practitioners, consultants, and other interested individuals with an overview of the Clean Air Act and its implementing regulations"--
The Clean Air Act Handbook by Julie R. Domike; Alec C. Zacaroli
ISBN: 9781634254397

Publication Date: 2017-08-01

The Clean Air Act remains one of the most significant and complex pieces of environmental legislation in the country's history. Since its inception, the Clean Air Act has arguably had a greater impact on the lives of Americans than any other environmental statute, and it promises to continue this trend as new legal developments expand its reach. Now fully revised and updated, The Clean Air Act Handbook is an established, comprehensive, and practical examination of the statute and the EPA's implementing regulations and policy guidance. It provides a broad and balanced perspective on all pertinent issues relating to the CAA. It brings together the experience and knowledge of private and public sector Clean Air Act practitioners, including those in law firms, industry, environmental groups, and the U.S. EPA. An ideal reference source for the experienced practitioner as well as a tool for the more general environmental lawyer, The Clean Air Act Handbook covers the entire statute, not just the more recent amendments. This current edition considers the controversial U.S. Supreme Court's Massachusetts v. EPA ruling and the resulting expansion of scope of the statute, including the EPA's expansive new regulatory initiatives aimed at regulating greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. Topics include: - Setting and meeting national ambient air quality standards- Transportation and conformity requirements in state implementation plans- The new source review program- Regulation of hazardous air pollutants- Ongoing regulation of mobile sources and of fuels and fuel additives- Title IV and the acid rain program- Interstate transport of air pollution- The CAA and global climate change- The Title V operating permit program and how to manage the permit- Implementation of CAA programs by American Indian tribes- Civil and criminal enforcement- Rulemaking and judicial review

Benefits and Costs of the Clean Air Act
The link contains studies on benefits and costs.
Criteria Air Pollutants
The Clean Air Act requires EPA to set National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS) for six common air pollutants (also known as "criteria air pollutants"). These pollutants are found all over the U.S. They can harm your health and the environment, and cause property damage.
This link contains detailed studies on six air pollutants: Ground-level Ozone, Particulate Matter, Carbon Monoxide, Lead, Sulfur Dioxide, Nitrogen Dioxide.
Air Research
EPA conducts research that provides the critical science to develop and implement Clean Air Act regulations that protect the quality of the air we breathe. This research also puts new tools and information in the hands of citizens, communities, air quality managers and regulators to reduce air pollution.
Key Historical Court Decisions Shaping EPA's Program under the Clean Air Act
This report provides a selective overview of court decisions that historically have most shaped
EPA's program under the Clean Air Act (CAA or Act).

Environmental Law

The EPA is The United States Environmental Protection Agency.

The EPA was started on December 2, 1970, after President Nixon signed an executive order.

Click the picture to link to the webpage containing these resources.

Statistics