LibGuides: Environmental Law: Land Use and Natural Resources

LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) is the most widely used green building rating system in the world. Available for virtually all building types, LEED provides a framework for healthy, highly efficient, and cost-saving green buildings. LEED certification is a globally recognized symbol of sustainability achievement and leadership.

Developed by the non-profit U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), LEED contains the following benefits: economic benefits, health benefits, and environmental benefits. Click the link below to know more about these benefits.

Leed Rating Systems
Including how LEED works and LEED system goals.

This is USGBC website.

Click the picture to view the webpage about LEED v4.1 and rating systems.

The history of LEED
In April 1993, Rick Fedrizzi, David Gottfried and Mike Italiano convened representatives from 60 firms and several nonprofits in the American Institute of Architects’ boardroom for the founding meeting. It was then that ideas were shared for an open and balanced coalition spanning the entire building industry and for a green building rating system, which would later become LEED. Click the link to view the details and timelines.

This is USGBC website.

Click the picture to view all the projects around the world.

LEED certification, developed by the U.S. Green Building Council (USGBC), provides a framework for green building design, construction, operations and performance. Built-in strategies and related outcomes help buildings and spaces determine what is most important, set sustainability goals and then go on to achieve those goals. Nearly 100,000 projects are participating in LEED across 180+ countries and territories, comprising over 24 billion square feet.

UIUC Libguides

Illinois Conservation and Conservancy Districts
This guide provides information about Illinois Conservation Districts and Conservancy Districts, which are special taxation districts to support local stewardship of natural resources. See the guide for information on legislation governing specific district types, lists of Illinois districts with website links, and relevant books and reports.
Wetlands Research Guide
Wetlands are areas where water covers the soil, or is present either at or near the surface of the soil all year or for varying periods of time during the year, including during the growing season. Water saturation (hydrology) largely determines how the soil develops and the types of plant and animal communities living in and on the soil. Wetlands may support both aquatic and terrestrial species. The prolonged presence of water creates conditions that favor the growth of specially adapted plants (hydrophytes) and promote the development of characteristic wetland (hydric) soils.
This guide provides books, articles, information of agencies and organizations, maps&data, legislation and wetlands in Illinois.
Illinois Forest Preserves
This guide provides legislation, forest preserve districts lists, news, books and reports.
Illinois Nature Preserves
This guide provides news, database, legislation, and books, etc.
City Planning and Landscape Architecture Literature Databases
This guide provides landscape architecture database, planning database, and library materials, etc.
Urban & Regional Planning Resources
This guide provides federal and state government information and resources., books, articles and urban & Regional planning resources.

Environmental Law

This is USGBC website.

Click the picture to view the webpage about LEED v4.1 and rating systems.

This is USGBC website. ​​​​​​

Click the picture to view all the projects around the world.

UIUC Libguides

This is USGBC website.