LibGuides: Summer Legal Research Tips: Foreign and International Law

International, Foreign and Comparative Law defined

EISIL (Electronic Information for International Law)
EISILs goal is to ensure, through EISIL, that web searchers can easily locate the highest quality primary materials, authoritative web sites and helpful research guides to international law on the Internet.

Though they are often lumped together, foreign law, international law and comparative law are all broad topics in their own right.

Foreign law involves the domestic laws of a foreign jurisdiction. International law has to do with the laws that regulate conduct between sovereign nations. Comparative law is the study of the differences between laws of various jurisdictions.

It is important to bear in mind that there may be a great many useful resources that will not be available in English.

See the first link for a guide to international law and the second for a guide to foreign law.

Foreign Law Guide
Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World

International Law Resources in Print

International Law by Antonio Cassese
Call Number: KZ3395.C25 A35 2005
ISBN: 0199259399
Publication Date: 2005-02-10
This new edition of Cassese's International Law provides a stimulating and authoritative account of international law for undergraduates and postgraduates. It has been fully revised and updated to include all recent developments in the subject, and contains a new chapter on terrorism as wellas extensive revision of the section on state responsibility. Providing a comprehensive commentary on international law as a whole, it compares the traditional legal position with the developing and evolving law in a way that is sensitive to political and economic considerations, as well asincluding detailed yet accessible examinations of state responsibility and international criminal law. Professor Cassese is a leading figure in the field, and this new edition takes full advantage of his extensive experience to provide a more personal approach to the subject than is typically foundin the standard textbook, acting as good intellectual exercise for the stronger student. Antonio Cassese is the Editor of the Journal of International Criminal Justice. To read sample articles from the journal visit: www.jicj.oupjournals.org

The Law Library contains materials on several international, foreign and comparative law topics. Student should search the library catalog or the International law portion of the New Books List to find materials that may be helpful for their research.

Globalizing justice : critical perspectives on transnational law and the cross-border migration of legal norms by Donald W. Jackson, Michael C. Tolley, Mary L. Volcansek
Call Number: K302 .G56 2010
Challenges in International Human Rights Law by Menno T. Kamminga (Editor)
Call Number: K3239.8 .C533 2014
ISBN: 9781409444367
Publication Date: 2014-07-28
Ashgate Research Companion to International Criminal Law by William A. Schabas; Yvonne Mcdermott; Niamh Hayes; Maria Varaki
Call Number: KZ7050 .A834 2013
ISBN: 9781409419181
Publication Date: 2013-05-23
Ashgate Research Companion to Migration Law Theory and Policy by Satvinder S. Juss
Call Number: K3275 .J87 2013
ISBN: 9780754671886
Publication Date: 2013-03-19
Brazilian Commercial Law by Silvia Fazio
Call Number: KHD1059 .B74 2013
ISBN: 9041141448
Publication Date: 2013-01-14

E-Resources

Access UN This link opens in a new window
Index to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Also included is the full-text of several thousand UN documents.
Foreign & International Law Resources Database (Hein) This link opens in a new window
FILRD includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Provides law reviews and journal articles prior to the dates traditionally covered by Lexis and Westlaw. Provides full text search capabilities.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Hein) This link opens in a new window
The Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) is the preeminent multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in over 500 legal journals published worldwide. It provides in-depth coverage of public and private international law, comparative and foreign law, and the law of all jurisdictions. IFLP also analyzes the contents of approximately fifty individually published collections of legal essays, Festschriften, Mélanges, and congress reports each year.
International Trade Reporter (BNA) This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the developments affecting U.S. trade and international business policy, as well as the policies of major U.S. trading partners in Europe, North America, Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
JustONE This link opens in a new window
Citator for English and Commonwealth caselaw.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive online resource containing peer-reviewed articles on many aspects of public international law.
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text online editions of reference works and treatises on international law topics published by Oxford University.
Parry & Grant encyclopaedic dictionary of international law This link opens in a new window
Reference source for definitions and explanations of international law terms
Trade Law Guide This link opens in a new window
Research World Trade Organization law, including WTO reports, awards and decisions.
Vlex This link opens in a new window
This resource has coverage of primary and secondary authority for multiple jurisdictions from South and Central America, Europe, Asia and more.